Lamh’s hurlers secure back to back league wins

All County Hurling League Div 3/4

Lamh Dhearg 2-11-0-06 Con Magee’s Glenravel

Lamh Dhearg hurlers made it back to back league victories with a 2-11-0-06 win over Con Magee’s Glenravel at Boucher Road this evening.

The Hannahstown men raced into a three point lead through a converted Mark Finnegan free and points from lively corner-forward Paddy Cunningham and Michael Herron.

Con Magee’s hit back with a converted Conor McNeill free and a 65’ from the same player reduced the deficit to a point with eight minutes gone.

Both sides were guilty of wayward shooting and a ten minute period without a score was finally ended when Lamh Dhearg youngster Mark Finnegan turned his marker and shot low past Ronan Donnelly to give the red hands a 1-03-0-02 lead.

Points then followed courtesy of Brendan McComb and Paddy Cunningham with McNeill pointing from play in response.

Cunningham landed his third point of the half two minutes into injury-time and just before the half-time whistle Jack Trainor; a late replacement for the injured Aidan McGuigan picked up possession and drilled low into the corner of the net to give his side a 2-06-0-03 lead at the break.

Paddy Cunningham hit the first score of the second-half and that started a run of four successive points without reply, full-forward Joe Doone hit his first of the evening with Domhnall Nugent landing a superbly converted free in the aftermath and Cunningham hit his second of the half to make it 2-10-0-03.

Con Magee’s should earlier have taken a lifeline given to them when referee Joe Compston awarded a 33rd minute penalty, however the usually reliable Conor McNeill sent his penalty wide of the target under pressure from Paddy Joe Herron.

McNeill would eventually land his side’s first score from a converted free midway through the second-half and added a second in between a Neil McCann point from play.

The final score of the game arrived through a converted Paddy Cunningham free as Lamh Dhearg ran out 2-11-0-06 winners at the full-time whistle.

Lamh Dhearg: PJ Herron, SP Gibson, M Lynch, C Nolan, R Diamond, D Nugent (0-01f), C Kelly, B McComb (0-01), P Mervyn, J Trainor (1-00), M Herron (0-01), C McCloskey, P Cunningham (0-06, 0-01f), J Doone (0-01), M Finnegan (1-01,0-01f). Subs: C Herron for C Nolan (58 mins).

Con Magee’s: R Donnelly, S Burns, D McBride, D O’Hagan, SL Kerr, M Scullion, B O’Neill, P O’Neill, J Duffin, B McCann, C McNeill (0-05, 0-03f), N McCann (0-01), J Fyfe, D Traynor, R McCann.


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.