Dunloy ease to victory


By Marianne McNeill

Dunloy 4-18 St Brigids Cloughmills 0-9

Dunloy maintained their unbeaten run in the division 1 hurling league with a 21 point victory over parish neighbours Cloughmills. The game was held up for nearly half an hour due to hasty re-arrangement no referee could be contacted and Dunloy ref Thomas McGilligan stood in.

By the 10th minute Dunloy had 2-4 on board with Chris Brogan and Nigel Elliott finding the net after some intricate passing movements between the Dunloy forwards.

Cloughmills up to that point had been keeping in touch with Mickey Devlin and James Doherty hitting 0-4 between them but they weren’t to trouble the scoreboard again until a 21st minute point from Conor Laverty split the uprights.

By that stage all six Dunloy forwards has pointed in the 16th minute Ali Dooey began a solo run. An exchange with Chris Brogan saw the space open up and he gave goalkeeper John McGuickan no chance with low angled drive to the net.

Dunloy had little trouble for the remainder of the half and points from Gabriel McTaggart Nigel Elliott Ali Dooey and Nicky McKeague gave Dunloy a 2-12 to 0-6 advantage at the short whistle.

The second half saw Dunloy take their foot off the pedal and in the 6th minute a long ball in from Nigel Elliott was missed by the keeper and Dunloy had their 4th goal.

James Doherty Conor Laverty and Aaron Smiley got 0-3 for Cloughmills in the second half but Dunloy through Nicky McKeague Ali Dooey and Gabriel McTaggart left the final score Dunloy 4-18 Cloughmills 0-6

For Dunloy their best came from Phelim Duffin Kevin Molloy Chris Kearns and Eamon Smyth while at midfield Paudie Shivers worked hard. Upfront Nigel Elliott Ali Dooey and Nickey McKeague worked well with excellent support play from Gabriel McTaggart.

For Cloughmills their best came from Sean McKendry, Aaron Smiley and Marty Dobbin who all tried hard in an overrun defence while at midfield Conor Laverty worked hard. Upfront Cloughmills struggled to cope with the Dunloy defence but trying hard were Ruairi Laverty, Mickey Devlin and James Doherty.


Dunloy Nicky McKeague 0-10, Nigel Elliott 2-1, Ali Dooey 1-4, Chris Brogan 1-0, Gabriel McTaggart 0-3.

Cloughmills James Doherty 0-3, Mickey Devlin 0-3, Conor Laverty 0-2, Aaron Smiley 0-1.


Dunloy Ryan Elliott, Phelim Duffin, James McKeague, Chris Kearns, Kevin McKeague, Eamon Smyth, Kevin Molloy, Paudie Shivers, Michael McClements, Micheal Murphy, Gabriel McTaggart, Nigel Elliott, Nicky McKeague, Chris Brogan, Ali Dooey. Subs used Stephen McGuigan, Niall Smyth, Karl O’Kane.

Cloughmills JB McGuickan, Stephen Martin, Michael Morrison, Sean McKendry, Joe Smyth, Aaron Smiley, Marty Dobbin, Conor Laverty, James Doherty, Michael Reid, Mickey Devlin, Sean Og McErlean, Ruairi Laverty, Colm McLaughlin, Jeffrey Og Laverty.

Referee Thomas McGilligan.

adwriter on


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.