Cargin U12s Continue their Winning Ways

South West under-12 League

Erin’s Own Cargin 3-11 St Mary’s Aghagallon 2-03 – by Geordie McGuckin

Cargin did continue in winning ways to maintain their unbeaten record in the under-12 league but the Toome lads were forced to come from behind after a lethargic start to proceedings in the splendid sunshine at a balmy Shore road venue on Friday evening past.

Despite remaining without blemish from the outset of the league the home side looked less than confident in the early stages and indeed after several openings spurned they did find themselves in arrears when the visitors grabbed an early goal.

Full forward Sean Gowdy was first to react as mid-fielder Joe Mc Donnell delivered high into the square and when he blasted to the back of the net the visitors were off the mark.

Cargin did continue in a less than confident mode and after Cian Scullion was only a whisker away when he fisted a Callum Gribbin delivery just wide of the post with goal on his mind Aghagallon were further ahead shortly thereafter with a score initiated by their keeper.

A good clearance from the net-minder Gareth Reavey who impressed throughout went straight to Aaron Kerr to promptly forward between the posts and see them at 1-01 to 0-00 ahead at the 8th minute.

The home side did look distinctly out of sorts and in some trouble but although  a 9th minute Brogan Martin point to open account was promptly followed by a second Aaron point in reply the home side were on the positive trail.

Cahir O’ Boyle added a second point for the home side and Ryan O’ Neill made it three as the clock reached 15 minutes.

After a less than impressive opening the Erin’s Own boys were in the groove and after Conhuir Johnston, and early replacement signalled arrival with back to back points Diarmuid Quinn followed with an 18th minute goal.

Jack Harney had intervened to make timely interception at the other end in the 18th minute, and as the clearance was claimed by Ryan O’ Neill his delivery to the wing half forward saw him deliver to the corner.

The Erin’s Own boys had ascended the positive and a strong finish to the period saw them at 1-05 to 1-02.

If the Toome lads had been slow out of the blocks in the first period they were not in such sluggish mode as the second twenty minute portion commenced and indeed a couple of major scores in the opening minutes saw them nine points ahead.

Corner forward Ryan O’ Neill claimed a goal in the 22nd minute as Callum Gribbin sent him away and when a Hugh O’ Donnell clearance and a Conhuir Johnston cross opened the way to the posts Charlie Mc Cann added another.

Conhuir Johnston who had entered the game as early replacement was really dominant since introduction and proved hugely influential.

Aghagallon were certainly not about to make concession however and mid-fielder Joe Mc Donnell fired over the bar from an 18th minute ‘45’.

A chink of light at the end of the tunnel had appeared for the visitors but such was soon to be doused as the home side added four points in quick succession, via Ben Mc Larnon, Callum Gribbin, Charlie Mc Cann, and Conhuir Johnston.

The home side had moved into a more than healthy 3-09 to 1-03 lead at the 35th minute and on the way to victory.

The visitors did persist in their quest for scores but the Cargin defence looked sound and Hugh O’ Donnell made fine interception to halt intentions as his clearance opened the way for Sarah O’ Neill to send replacement Pat Scullion in to add a 37th minute score.

Aghagallon did earn further reward for the honest endeavours late in proceedings as Joe Mc Donnell’s lofted delivery opened the way for Sean Gowdy to grab a second goal but a 21st minute Cahir O’ Boyle point proved the last score to see his side over the winning line, points secured at 3-11 to 2-03.

Referee S Laverty (Moneyglass)



Daniel Mc Cann, Brian Darragh, Sarah O’ Neill, Jack Harney, Ciaran Mc Peake, Ciaran Mc Peake, Hugh O’ Donnell, Ben Mc Larnon, Callum Gribbin (0-01), Cahir O’ Boyle (0-02), Diarmuid Quinn (1-00), Cian Scullion, Brogan Martin (0-01), Ryan O’ Neill (1-01).


Charlie Mc Cann (1-01)

Conhuir Johnston (0-03)

Pat O’ Neill (0-01)

Ethan Scullion

Karl Mc Cann

Aiden Lynn


Gareth Reavey, Dara Keatley, Sam Thomas, Luke Cunningham, Matthew Braham, Eoin Magill, Eoin Magill, Joe Mc Donnell (0-01), Aaron Kerr (0-02), Nathan Gowdy, Callum Mulholland, Sean Gowdy (2-00), Caolan Gardiner.



Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.