St Colm’s prove too strong for La Salle in Mallon Shield final


St Colm’s Draperstown 2-12  De La Salle 1-1

La Salle found St Colm’s Draperstown too hot to handle in Wednesday’s Brother Mallon Shield Final in perfect underfoot conditions at Slemsh Park, Ballymena.

Right from the throw-in, the Derry side were in control.  With the breeze at their back Eoin Donnelly led the Draperstown charge, but they were wasteful.

La Salle had an accomplished goalkeeper in Conor Connolly who batted away two dangerous high balls in the opening stages.

Akhmad Soda, Michael Walsh and Tiarnan Auld defended well against the constant pressure with Thomas Duff trying to get the ball past a strong St Colm’s midfield diamond.

The pressure eventually told when Donnelly opened the scoring with a long range point in the sixth minute.

Donnelly turned provider for St Colm’s first goal, with nippy corner forward John Boyle poking to the back of the net.

Joe McKenna, Conan Bradey and Aodhan McCallion kept the pressure on and St Colm’s had 1-6 on the board.

With seven minutes to the break La Salle got their first score.  It was strong defending from Soda and Duff that cut down a St Colm’s attack.  On the breakaway Sean Bunce slotted to the net with a convincing finish, but it was the Derry men who led 1-8 to 1-0 at the break.

La Salle had the breeze and were playing down the hill.  They needed to make the third quarter count, but Aodhan McCallion hit a first St Colm’s score to maintain their momentum.

McCallion added a goal in the sixth minute to put the game out of reach.  Daniel Smyth popped over a free but McCallion, Donnelly and substitute Kieran Hasson added scores as St Colm’s ran out comfortable winners.

La Salle Belfast: Conor Connolly, Akhmad Soda, Michael Walsh, Tiarnan Auld, Ciaran Boyd, Oisin Coleman, Thomas Duff, Pearse McCashin, Daniel Smyth (0-1f), Sean Munce (1-0), Michael Johnston, Liam Walsh, Daniel Walsh, Conal McGuigan, Donall Gray.

Subs: Cormac Austin, Shea Fagan, Aidan McCague, Ciaran McLaughlin, Patrick McClenaghan, Callum Murray, Kieran Greive, Pearse Maguire.

St Colm’s Draperstown: Ben O’Connor, Riain O’Hagan, Eoghan McNicholl, Caolan Fullerton, Kevan Donnelly, Conor Shiels (0-1), Joe McKenna (0-1), Marc Wilson (0-1), Eoin Donnelly (0-3), Jamie Lee McGlade, Aodhan McCallion (1-4, 1f), Conan Bradley (0-1), Conor Boyle, Fergal Bradley, John Boyle (1-0).

Subs: Andrew McBride, Sean Donnelly, Aaron McKenna, Joseph McCullagh, Jack Kelly, James McDaid, Shea McAllister, Ben McWilliams, Lorcan Bradley, Kieran Hasson (0-1), Patrick Higgins, Michael McKenna, Johnny McDaid.

Referee: Fergal Hurley (Derry)

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Pics by John McIlwaine



Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.