Carey in top gear as they clinch Junior Feis Shield

Feis na nGleann 2018 – Junior Hurling Shield final

Carey Faughs 2-25 Armoy Glen Rovers 0-10

A powerful display of scoring saw Carey Faughs capture the Junior Hurling Shield at the expense of near neighbours Armoy in Friday evening’s final at Feis na nGleann in Ballymena. The boys from Barnish certainly had their shooting boots on as they fired over scores from all angles to run up a highly impressive 2-25 total. Armoy battled all the way and hit some excellent scores themselves but it was clear from the early stages that they were battling against the odds and in the end they had to play second fiddle to their razor sharp neighbours.

The opening fifteen minutes was played at a high pace and after PJ McBride put Armoy in front Carey came back with three inside two minutes, one from Daniel McBride and two from team captain Fiachra McVeigh. Trevor Linton, who was excellent through for Armoy, cut the gap back to a point when he fired over from 70 meters but powerful scores from full forward Daniel McBride and one from Caolan McCaughan had them in control. Conor Christie responded with a point from the Armoy men but another scoring flurry from Fiachra McVeigh and Patrick Gillan pulled the Faughs 0-9 to 0-3 ahead by the end of the first quarter. PJ McBride pulled a point back for the Glen Rovers side but when Daniel McBride fielded a high ball on the edge of the Armoy ‘square’ and turned to fire home from close range Carey were in total command and they drove on to lead by 1-14 to 0-6 at half time.18

Three quick points at the start of the second half from substitute Conor McBride, centre forward Gerard McBride and midfielder Caolan McCaughan hammered home the Faughs advantage and though Turlough McBride pulled a point back for Armoy it was scatn consolation as hit a further 1-14 without reply, the goal come from a scuffed shot by full forward Daniel McBride. Trevor Linton provided some resistance for the Rovers with three well taken points by Carey always had a reply and scores from Zak McCaughan, Daniel McBride and Conor McBride wrapped it all up.

Carey – Raymond McMullan, Conor O’Brian, Christopher Butler, Tiernan McGlynn, Eoin Hill, Zach McCaughan, Daniel Martin, Caolan McCaughan, Patrick Gillan, Gerard McBride, Fiachra McVeigh, Kevin Murphy, Peter Murphy.

Subs – Darren McVeigh, Conor McBride, Darren Magowan, Pat Murphy, Aaron McBride.

Armoy – Timothy Burns, David McMichael, Joe McBride, Ciaran McCormick, Emmet O’Hara, Liam O’Hara, Shane Devlin, PJ McBride, Conor Christie, Tarlach McBride, Trevor Linton, Francis McFetridge, Seamus McAllister, John Cassley, Colum Hunter.

Subs – Alex Kinney, Aiden McErlaine

Referee – Francis Traynor (Shamrocks)23

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Pics by Dylan McIlwaine

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.