Shamrocks impress in Darragh Cup win

Darragh Cup final – North Antrim Minor Hurling Championship

Loughgiel 4-15   Cushendall 0-7

Loughgiel won the Darragh Cup with a comprehensive win over Cushendall in Sunday evenings final at Pairc MacUilin, Ballycastle. The final which was to have been played earlier in the sumer finally got a slot and as expected Loughgiel proved too good for the Ruairis, winning in the end by twenty points.

The opening ten minutes of the game were evenly contested with Declan McCloskey and Michael McGarry pointing for Loughgiel, while Fiontan McQuillan and John McAlister replied of the Cushendall. However the Shamrocks were gaining the upper hand and they dominated the next fifteen minutes, hitting 2-4 without reply. Ryan Hill started the scoring run before full forward Odharn Grath grabbed his team’s first goal in the 13th minute. Two minute later Michael McGarry bagged his team’s second goal to put them in total control and when McGrath, Frank Boyle and McGarry added points the gap was out to ten. John McAlister pulled a couple of points back for Cushendall but they were answered on each occasion by Loughgiel’s Rian McMullan which gave his team a 2-8 to 0-4 lead at the interval.

Loughgiel continued where they left off at the start of the second half and points from Ryan Hill (2), Michael McGarry, Enda Og McGarry and Rian McMullan stretched their lead to 15 points before a goal from Odhran McGrath put them out of sight. Cushendall battled away against the odds and they pulled back three points through Padraig McKillop and John McAlister (2) but there was not stopping the Shamrocks and they finished off with another scoring flurry to with points from Michael McGarry and Declan McCloskey, plus a goal from Cathal Hargan.

LOUGHGIEL: Kevin McAuley, Conor Henry, Ruairi McCloskey, Christie Dickson, Enda Og McGarry, Declan McCloskey, Tiernan McAlonan, Shane O’Boyle, Cathal Hargan, Ryan Hill, Michael McGarry, Frank Boyle, Ryan McMullan, Odhran McGrath, Christy McGarry.

CUSHENDALL: Colm McKeegan, Donal Kearney, Mark Emerson, James McAlister, Pierce McKeegan, Conall McGlynn, Senan Black, Calum Kilgore, John McAlister, Fiontan McQuillan, Conlith McKinley, Padraig McKillop, Aidan Ritson, Ronan McAteer, Joshua Schnell.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.