St. Gall’s and Bredagh serve up a thriller


St. Gall’s 1-17 Bredagh 0-17

St. Gall’s and Bredagh served up a real thriller at Milltown Row today in a game that could rightly be described as a game of two halves. Bredagh certainly had the better of the opening half and were good value for their 0-11 to 0-8 half time lead despite being without their county contingent.

It was a different game after the break however as Chris Dornan’s side stepped it up a gear, out-scoring the South Belfast side by 1-9 to 0-6 and when Gregory McGreevey took advantage of a slip by Bredagh keeper to kick the sliotar to the net in thew 41st minute, they never looked back.

It was St. Gall’s who were first off the mark with points from Paddy Friel and Gregory McGreevey but visitors Bredagh were back on terms by the 7th minute as Liam Hogan and Declan McCartney split the posts at the other end.

Kieran McGourty for St. Gall’s and Matt McAreavey for the visitors exchanged further points but St. Gall’s started to get on top and a trio of points from Jackson McGreevey, Marcus Donnelly and a fine long range effort from Niall O’Neill moved them three in front after 15 minutes.

Sean Hughes replied for the Down men but Jack Hopkins had the final say prior to the water break to leave the home side 0-7 to 0-4 ahead and looking fairly comfortable.

Perhaps there was something in the Bredagh water for they returned rejuvenated to hit seven points without reply through Declan McCartney, Sean Hughes 0-3, Liam Hogan, Eoghan Donnelly and Matt McAreavey before Jackson McGreevey replied from a free in the 31st minute to leave the visitors leading 0-11 to 0-8 at the break.

It wasn’t looking good for the Milltown men when Sean Burked limped out of the contest after four minutes of the second half to be replaced by Fergus Donnelly but Ronan Crossan got them off the mark with a point in the 7th minute.

Jackson McGreevey added another before Paddy Friel brought the sides level with a great point in the 11th minute. Bredagh tried to respond and it took a good save from Kurtis McGreevey to deny Liam Hogan before matters swung significantly in favour of the home side.

Ian Galway in the Bredagh goals, who hadn’t put a foot wrong up to this point, spilled a long delivery from Jackson McGreevey and Gregory McGreevey was on hand to bundle the sliotar over the line and give his side a lead they were never again to lose.

St. Gall’s were now dominating matters as Jackson McGreevey came forward to send over a great long range point and another from Fergus Donnelly had the Milltown Row men 1-13 to 0-11 in front at the second water break.

On the restart St. Gall’s extended their lead through a Tomas O’Ciarain point and it had been 19 minutes since Bredagh last scored but they found a response and hit three in a row from the sticks of Eoghan Donnelly, Ryan Curran and Michael Woods to close the gap to two with seven minutes remaining.

St. Gall’s were determined not to let this one slip however and they upped their performance in the closing stages with Gregory McGreevey, Jackson McGreevey, Kieran McGourty and Jackson McGreevey again moving them five in front by the 27th minute.

It was as good as over at this stage but Bredagh kept going to the end and were rewarded with late points from Odhran McFlynn and Ryan Curran but these were merely consolation scores.

A good game of hurling between two excellent sides with St. Gall’s making it two from two to join Cathaoir an Ri on four point while Bredah are on equal points but have played a game more and when they have their county panellists available they look more than capable of challenging any of the teams in this division.

St. Gall’s: Kurtis McGreevey, Lorcan O’Ciarain, Joe McDaniel, Stephen Morrison, Niall O’Neill, Aodhan Gallagher, Daniel Churchill, Jack Hopkins, Jackson McGreevey, Gregory McGreevey, Sean Burke, Kieran McGourty, Marcus Donnelly, Patrick Friel, Ronan Crossen. Subs: Fergus Donnelly for Sean Burke,

Bredagh: Ian Galway, Lawrence Smith, Thomas McGuckin, Niall Smith, Chris Ferry, Niall McFarland, Michael Woods, Declan McCartney, Matt McAreavey, Sean Hughes, Oran McFlynn, Ciaran McMullan, Jarlath McCollum, Eoghan Donnelly, Liam Hogan.

Referee: Paul McDonnell (Rossa)

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.