Ardoyne and St. Ergnat’s share the spoils

ACFL Div.2

Kickham’s Ardoyne 1-7 St. Ergnats Moneyglass 0-10

Having lost by a point to All Saints last time out, Kickham’s Ardoyne went one better this time when they recorded a very creditable draw against high flying Moneyglass at the Crickey last night. The hosts led 1-2 to 0-3 at the halfway stage and were good value for that lead but the visitors reined them in in the second half to share the points in the end.

The early exchanges were fairly even with Conor O’Kane and Colum Duffin on target for the visitors in the opening six minutes and Cormac Mullan pointing a free for the North Belfast side before bringing matters all square from a ‘45’ with 12 minutes on the clock.

Ardoyne looked like they were gaining the upper hand when Gary McKernan got in for a goal in the 16th minute but the hosts were unable to add to their first half total with a Colm Duffin reply with a point the only other score of an uneventful first half.

The impressive Cormac Mullan extended the Ardoyne lead to three on the restart and the visitors looked in a bit of trouble but they are not Intermediate champions for nothing and they came back strongly hitting the next four points of the game.

Patrick McCormick, Conor Boyd and Colum Duffin fired over points by the 11th minute to tie the contest before the impressive Duffin edged them one ahead at the end of the third quarter. Conaill Prenter extended that lead to two but just when it seemed that the visitors were taking control, Ardoyne found a response.

Kevin Lynch fired over for the Fennell Park side with 11 minutes of normal time remaining and substitute Sean Brown added a couple more. Patrick and Peter McCormick replied with points for the visitors to edge them one in front with time almost up but in a dramatic finish Joe McNeill swung over the equaliser for the home side.

Ardoyne: Tiarnan Hughes, Pearse Marley, Sean Joe Rooney, Kealan McCallan, Kevin Lynch, Joseph McNeill, Daniel Moore, Kevin McLaughlin, Oisin McVicker, Aidan McNeill, Gary McKernan, Eoghan Corrigan, Conor McDowell, Cormac Mullan, Patrick Lynch. Subs: Sean Brown, Brendan O’Neill, Fiontan Marley,

Moneyglass: Gary Murray, Peter McCormick, Tiernan Duffin, Sean Kelly, Patrick McCormick, Conor Boyd, Diarmuid Scullin, Ciaran Kelly, Colum Duffin, Connor O’Kane, Seanchann Duffin, Jack McCoy, Niall Boyd, Ryan Doyle, Aidan McErlain Subs: Conaill Prenter for Niall Boyd, Kevin McPeake for Aidan McErlain, Tyler Cassidy for Sean Kelly.

Referee: Danny O’Neill (Gort na Mona)

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.