Cargin girls win 2020 football title

Erin’s Own Cargin 3-07 O Donovan Rossa 2-08

The 2020 under 14 Antrim LGFA championship final which was postponed due to Covid_19 last year involving Cargin and O’Donovan Rossa was played on Sunday morning last on the pristine Dub arena. Since it was a 2020 final players who are now out of under 14 were eligible to play, and whilst all bar one of Cargin’s team are the same team from last year, it was clearly a different Rossa line out from their under 14 this year and so looked to be a tough test for Cargin.

 Rossa got off the blocks pointing from a free on the 21 in the first minute following up with a second from a 45, the Cargin girls were nervous but a free for a foul on Roisin Quinn which she switched to Enya Neeson who confidently carried the ball in to Orlaith Johnson on the box, the latter rattling the net to settle the Toome girls somewhat.

 Rossa pointed a further 5 balls in the first half, Grace Holbrook and Meadhbh Gallagher the most dangerous for the City side and producing some great scores, while Orlaith Johnson in full forward for Cargin was being fed balls in by Roisin Quinn, Enya Neeson and Órla Neeson who worked tirelessly up and down the pitch to over turn Rossa and Laura Scullion winning balls in centre half forward the Cargin side were in front by a point at the break with a tally of 1.05, the centre half and full forward getting the scores.

 Rossa started the third quarter strong finding the net twice in succession, but Cargin came back with Laura Scullion this time hitting the net for the Toome side. Rossa replied swiftly with a point to keep them ahead but that would be their last score of the match as the girls in green kept them scoreless for the last 15 minutes and came back to score another goal and a point off the boots of Orlaith Johnson and Roisin Quinn.

Cargin produced some great defence in the form of net-minder Roise Murray who pulled off several great saves which were well cleared by Caoimhe Scullion and a super shift from Grace O’Boyle, indeed both teams put in a strong shift but the spoils went to Cargin and they continue their unbeaten run this year.

They meet Rossa again in the league on Thursday who may indeed want to put paid to that run but it will be the green machine who will be setting their sights on making more history as they aim to win two championships for the same age group in one year.

Rossa: Éabha Rae, Sophia Brown, Sophie Bell, Aoibheann McIlroy,Emma Gillgun, Erin Taylor, Gabby Ward, Grace Holbrook, Carla McGinley Eva Trainor,  Meadhbh Gallagher, Nadal Jameison, Cora Murray, Roise Matthews, Joanne Mc Laughlin,Eimear Mildenhall, Polly Short, Aisling Logan, Hannah Walsh


Roise Murray, Grace O’Boyle,  Aoife O’Boyle, Aimee Johnston, Órla Neeson, Caoimhe Scullion, Sally Scullion, Enya Neeson (C), Roisin Quinn, Cathy Craig, Laura Scullion, Niamh Devine, Niamh Laverty, Orlaith Johnston, Grace Lavery.

Eimear Mc Erlain for Niamh Devine

Aoibheann Neeson for Niamh Laverty,

Aela McCann for Cathy Craig

Caoimhe Mc Erlain, Caoimhe McCann, Saoirse Hazzard

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.