Cargin fight back to beat Lamh Dhearg

U-15 ACFL Division 2Lámh Dhearg 1-03-2-05 Cargin

Kevin Herron reports from Hannahstown

Cargin fought back in the second half to make it two wins from two with a 2-05-1-03 win over Lámh Dhearg at Hannahstown this evening.

Due to the game throwing in late and a reduced game time it was vital that a good start was made.

It took a while for both sides to settle into the game and eight minutes for the first score to arrive after Ronan Webb was fouled. Sean McCarthy seized responsibility for the resulting free and found the net to give the Lámhs the advantage.

Dylan Fegan then curled the ball between the posts and Aaron Mervyn made a nuisance of himself in the visitors defence and forced a mistake which inadvertently led to a point courtesy of the midfielder.

Fegan doubled his account for the evening after a neat pass from Ronan Webb- which opened up a 1-03-0-00 lead for his side.

Cargin hit back before the half time whistle thanks to a converted Calum Gribbin free and a point from play after Fiontan O’Donnell fed Seanie Hazzard for an impressive score.

The Toome side piled on the pressure early in the second period and hit a third score in succession after Calum Gribbin found Patrick O’Neill who split the posts.

Parity was restored six minutes into the second half as Jack O’Neill slipped the ball inside to full-forward Daniel McCann who picked his spot in the net to level at 1-03 apiece.

The game began to stretch in the aftermath with both sides trying to nudge themselves into the winning position.

But it was Cargin that did pull clear for the first time in proceedings, Patrick O’Neill picked out Daniel McCann and shot into the corner of the net.

The same two players combined a few minutes later as McCann picked off a fine point and Calum Gribbin would convert a free before the game was out to ensure that Cargin claimed maximum points from a tricky trip.

Lámh Dhearg: D Burns, A Kennedy, A Din, C O’Neill, O Lee, C Camlin, S Doran, C Fegan-Lappin, A Mervyn (0-01), D Fegan (0-02), R Webb, C McConville, J Cleland, S McCarthy (1-00f), C Tully. Subs: M Murray for C Tully (HT), D Mulholland for S Doran (HT), T Lee for D Fegan (28), E Riley for C McConville (39).

Cargin: C Hamill, B Darragh, E Scullion, F Hardy, F O’Donnell, J O’Neill, P Machnik, C Gribbin (0-02f), J Harney, E McLaverty, C McCann, S Hazzard (0-01), P O’Neill (0-01), D McCann (2-01), N Quinn. Subs: T McCann for P O’Neill (37), D O’Boyle for N Quinn (37).

Referee: Kevin Parke (Naomh Eanna)

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.