Moneyglass leave the Ulster trail

LGFA Ulster Minor Football Championship (semi-final)

St Ergnat’s Moneyglass (Antrim) 3-06 Carrickmore (Tyrone) 2-12

Antrim minor champions Moneyglass left the Ulster trail when they lost out to an excellent Carrickmore side in a fiercely contested semi-final at Ahoghill on Sunday.

The Antrim girls started confidently, and with their quick getaway they held a nine point advantage 3-02 to 0-02 at the opening water break and looked on their way to victory.

The Tyrone champions did open account first when mid fielder Cloda Mc Namee split the posts in the third minute but after back to back wides the impressive Maria O’ Neill fired between the posts to level the contest.

The Antrim champions continued to press and a precision based Alicia Boyd delivery opened the way for full forward Lea Cassidy to finish to the net and they were on the way.

Carrickmore tried to respond but the Moneyglass girls stood tall in defence and a fine Molly McCoy intervention and an Aoife Kelly dash and delivery opened the door for full forward Lea Cassidy and St. Ergnat’s were calling the shots.

The Marian Hill side continued to dominate the opening exchanges and a Mollie McCoy interception and a Saoirse McErlaine clearance found Maria O’ Neill and the flying centre forward planted the leather in the net before Alicia Boyd sent Ciara O’ Boyle away to raise white.

Moneyglass were utterly dominant in the opening phase but they were halted in progress as Carrickmore added to their meagre tally in the 15th minute with a Maeve Mc Crystal point which was to signal a revival in the ranks of Carmen.

The Tyrone champions were having problems finding the target in the first quarter but such wayward tendencies were not to continue. Sorcha Gormley led the offensive and provided the inch perfect cross for Clodagh Munroe to finish to the net in the 23rd minute before helping herself to another, a couple of minutes later and unanswered points from Alanagh McCallan, Siofra Loughran and Sorcha Gormley moved them 2-07 to 3-02 ahead at the interval.

The second half prove a close encounter with both sides giving their all in search of a place in the decider as score at one end provoked swift reply at the other. With the score level and 12 minutes remaining Moneyglass suffered back to back body blows as they lost the services of both Maria O’ Neill and Alicia Boyd. Centre forward O’ Neill, who had grabbed a couple of goals in the first period and was central to the Moneyglass cause was sent to the sin bin and wing half forward Alicia Boyd, who had what looked an excellent goal ruled out just previous, followed her team mate a few minutes later.

St Ergnat’s battled hard in the closing stages with Sarah O’ Neill and the strong running Aoife Kelly rallying to the cause, but the Tyrone champions had the bit firmly between their teeth as the end approached and late points by their best on view, Sorcha Gormley saw them over the winning line and into the Provincial decider at 2-12 to 3-06.

Carrickmore: Rosie Kerr, Clare Donnelly, Aobhinn Daly, Rionach Mc Callan, Caoimhe Coyle, Clara Gormley, Balthnait Kerr, Cloda Mc Namee, Caitlin Gormley, Aine Grimes, Clodagh Munroe (1-00), Alanagh Mc Callan (0-02) Siofra Loughran (0-01), Maeve Mc Crystal (0-02), Sorcha Gormley (1-05)

Moneyglass: Emily Mc Coy, Erin Duffin, Molly Mc Coy, Niamh Neeson, Sarah O’ Neill, Saoirse Mc Erlaine, Aoife Kelly, Ciara Griffin, Ciara Scullen, Ailisa Boyd (0-01), Maria O’ Neill (1-02), Ciara O’ Boyle (0-03), Nicole Cassidy, Lea Cassidy (2-00), Hannah Murray Subs: Lea Stewart for C Griffin

 Referee: E Cuthbert (An Dun)

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.