Con Magee’s were JFC winners in 1937

A few weeks ago we launched a search to record all the junior football championship winners in Antrim in order to compose a record document for future reference. The response from the public has been great and we have received a substantial number of those winners along with photographs, photographs of winning medals and other items connected to those teams.

Con Magee’s Glenravel won the JFC in 1937 and today we publish a photograph from 1933 which included most of the men who took part in that success.

Con Magees Glenravel first won the Junior Football Championship in 1937, their first county honours.
This team, photographed with the South West League trophy in 1933 featured the majority of the players who collected the JFC title four years later.
Glenravel 1933
Back, L-R, Alex McKeown, John McNaughton, Charlie Scullion, David (Ray) McIlwaine.
Middle row – Paddy Magee, Jim McCann, Charlie Ried, Dan Kearney, David mcCann, Paddy Higgins.
Front, L-R, Frank mclaughlin, Bobby Mcneill, Paddy Carey, Philip Reid, Danny McCann, Jim McLaughlin, Johnny McNeill.

More recently our search has come to a halt and we are struggling to complete that list but the search continues and we hope that today’s article will serve as a reminder to those who may be able to assist us in the completion of the document

We are still missing the winners from 1999, 97, 94, 93, 89, 88, 86, 85, 83, 82, 81, 80, 77, 73, 68, 66, 65, 59, 56, 55, 54, 1940 to1952.

If you have information and photographs on any of the winning teams from the above years send them to: or to

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.