League champions Moneyglass celebrate with a win

Homefit Antrim Football League – Division 2

St Ergnat’s Moneyglass 1-14 Ardoyne Kickhams 0-12

St Ergnat’s Moneyglass received their Division 2 trophy at the end of Wednesday evening’s league win over Ardoyne at Marian Hill. Ironically the visitors were the only team to beat them this season, (their only defeat of the year) at the Crickey in the first half of the league campaign, but Moneyglass have been the stand out team of the year and fully deserve their title.

Antrim treasurer Donal Murphy presents the Division 2 trophy to Moneyglass captain Peter McCormick

With Ardoyne starting to build towards championship they were going to be a tough nut to crack, but despite being short a few regulars the home side were mostly in control of the game and were good value for their five point win. The north Belfast men made them work for the win though, and after trailing by four at half time, they twice fought back to within a point. However the clinching score of the match came at the end of the third quarter when Dermot McEralin got the only goal of the game.

Kevin Lynch opened the scoring for Ardoyne when he pointed in the third minute, but Aidan McErlain and Conlaidh McCann came back with points for the home side to edge them ahead by the 8th minute.

Cahal Keown brought the visitors level, but Moneyglass were starting to get on top and it was another 14 minutes before Ardoyne raised their next flag, while in the meantime the home side tagged on points from Colm Duffin (2) and Aidan McErlain to move three clear by the 21st minutes. Cahal Keown closed the gap to 2 with his second point of the half, but Moneyglass came back through McCann and Cassidy to stretch the gap out to four. It was score for score in the lead up to half time as Aidan McNeill and Conor McLaughlin came back with points for the Kickham’s, but two by Colum Duffin put Moneyglass four ahead at the half time whistle.

Ardoyne battled their way back into the game at the start of the second half and three in a row from Aidan McNeill, Ciaran McNeill and Kevin Lynch cut the deficit back to a single point by the 39th minute. A pointed free by Colm Duffin got Moneyglass up and running, but Fiontan Marley replied for Ardoyne almost immediately. Colm Duffin and Ardoyne corner back Garyy McKernan exchanged points two minutes later before Moneyglass got the all important score of the game when Dermot McErlain fired to the Ardoyne net on 45 mintues.

McEralin’s score settled Moneyglass nerves and they dominated the remainder of the game with Colm Duffin hitting his 7th and 8th points of the game, before Dermot McErlain closed it out with a point in the final minute.

After the game county treasurer Donal Murphy was there to present the Division 2 League trophy, and the celebration got underway soon afterwards.

Congratulations St Ergnat’s  – Division 2 champions!

Hugh Carey and his management team celebrate with the Division 2 trophy.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.