Cargin close in on Minor League title

U17 Football League Division One

St Mary’s Aghagallon 0-06 Erin’s Own Cargin 2-13

Following Sunday’s win over Con Magee’s, Glenravel, Cargin continued their relentless pursuit of the U17 football league title when they travelled to Aghagallon on Wednesday evening and returned home with an impressive win over the reigning minor champions.

The Toome side started on the front foot and raised a half dozen white flags in the opening ten minutes without reply and never looked in danger throughout the contest.

Conhuir Johnston raised a couple of white flags in as many minutes with Ben Mc Larnon and Carl McCann following suit by the 7th minute.

The home side were struggling in the early stages and Callum Gribbin and Conhuir Johnston added further point to leave them 0-6 to 0-0 ahead.

The home side opened their account in the in the 12th minute through Eoin Maginnis with Callum Mulholland adding another within a minute but that was as good as it was to get for the St Mary’s side as Cargin continued to dominate and further points from Conhuir Johnston, Cahir O’ Boyle, and a slick Diarmuid Quinn effort ensured a 0-09 to 0-02 advantage for the Toome lads at half time.

Aghagallon threatened in the early minutes of the second half but were unable to add to their total and although the visitors lost the services of mid fielder Charlie Mc Cann in the 31st minute back to back goals from Conhuir Johnston and Diarmuid Quinn ensured the visitors were on the way to victory.

Patryk Matchick paved the way for a Conhuir Johnston point with a foul on Carl Mc Cann opening the door for Cahir O’ Boyle to despatch the resultant free between the posts

 Replacement Fiontan Hardy then sent  Conhuir Johnston on his way to fire to the net in the 43d minute and when Diarmuid Quinn got on the end of a Callum Gribbin delivery to add another goal for the visitors the die was cast.

Connor Magill and Callum Mulholland replied with late points for Aghagallon but these were merely consolation scores as Cargin crossed the line convincing winners to retain top spot in the ratings.

Aghagallon: Joseph Mc Donald, Darragh Keighley, Chris Hannon, Ryan Mulholland, Keelan Gardiner, Aidan Brady, Conor Magill (0-01), James Mc Cormick, Eoin Maginnis (0-01), Sam Thomas, Callum Mulholland (0-03), Sean Gowdy, Michael Hamill, Ronan Crawford, Nathan Gowdy.


Garret Ramsey

Sean Mc Gavigan

Ronan O’ Connor

Cargin: Daniel Mc Cann, Patryk Matchyk, Hugh O’ Donnell, Eoin Scullion, Cahir O’ Boyle (0-02), Ciaran Mc Peake, Jack O’ Neill, Charlie Mc Cann, Cian Scullion, Jack Harney, Conhuir Johnston (1-06), Ben Mc Larnon (0-01), Carl Mc Cann (0-01), Diarmuid Quinn (1-01), Callum Gribbin (0-02)


Fiontan Hardy for C Mc Cann

Tom Mc Cann for J O’ Neill

Fintan O’ Donnell for D Quinn

Conleth Hamill for C O’ Boyle

Referee: S Toal (St. Patrick’s)

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.