Posts by thesaffrongael

Photographer and GAA writer who has been covering hurling, football and camogie for almost forty years

Casement Social Club Junior Hurling Championship


St Paul’s vs St Teresa’s                   QF1

Glenravel vs Gort na Mona          QF2

Junior B winner vs Rasharkin       QF3

Glenarm vs Lámh Dhearg             QF4


QF1 vs QF4

QF3 vs QF2

Junior B Hurling Championship

Preliminary Round

Davitts vs St Agnes’         Prelim 1

All Saints vs Ardoyne      Prelim 2


Prelim 1 vs Prelim 2

Loch Mor Dal gCais vs Latharna Óg

The Devenish Junior Football Championship

Preliminary Round

Eire Óg vs Ardoyne                                          Prelim 1

St Malachy’s vs McQuillan’s, Ballycastle Prelim 2

St Patrick’s, Lisburn vs Laochra Loch Lao Prelim 3


O’Donnells vs Mitchell’s                               QF1

St Agnes’ vs Prelim 2 Winners                    QF2

St Comgall’s vs Prelim 1 Winners               QF3

Na Piarsaigh vs Prelim 3 Winners               QF4


QF4 vs QF1

QF2 vs QF3

LOCC Solicitors Intermediate Football Championship

Last season’s Junior Football Champions Con Magees Glenravel face either Davitt’s or Sarsfields in the quarter final of the LOCC Solicitors Intermediate Football Championship, the two West Belfast sides one of the three preliminary ties drawn out of the hat. South West rivals Tir na nOg and Rasharkin meet in the first of them, while in the second one Dunloy and Moneyglass looks like the tie of the round. The winners of those two games meet each other in the quarter finals while All Saints take on Aldergrove and St Paul’s take on Glenavy.

Preliminary Round

Rasharkin vs Tir na nÓg                  Prelim 1

Moneyglass vs Dunloy                   Prelim 2

Davitt’s vs Sarsfields                       Prelim 3

Quarter Finals

Prelim 3 Winners vs Glenravel                    QF1

Aldergrove vs All Saints                                 QF2

St Pauls vs Glenavy                                         QF3

Prelim 2 Winners vs Prelim 1 Winners     QF4

Senior Hurling Championship

Bathshack Senior Hurling Championship Draw

The Bathshack senior hurling championship will take the same format as last year with a preliminary round deciding who makes up the two groups of three. Last year Ballycastle lost out to a St John’s side who went to qualify for the semi-final, eventually losing after a replay to overall winners Ruairi Og. This time McQuillan’s take on Rossa to see who will join the 2018 champions and the 2017 champions Dunloy in the round robin stage.

Like 2018, Cushendall and Dunloy have been drawn together in one group with the winner of the preliminary match joining them while last years beaten finalists Loughgiel will be joined by St John’s and the 2018 Intermediate champions, St Galls.

Ruairi Og coach Ciaran Kearney is expecting another tight championship later in the summer: “We’re looking forward to the break over the next few weeks and I’m sure once the league starts getting into the swing of things we’ll look a little ahead to the championship.

“I’m sure last years semi-finalists may be expecting to be back at that stage again, however Ballycastle, St Galls and Rossa are all capable of putting in some big performances and making an impact again on the senior championship.”

The semi-final pairings will be an open draw at the end of the round robin.

Preliminary Round:

O’Donovan Rossa vs McQuillan’s Ballycastle (home and away)

Group 1

Cuchullains, Dunloy          A

Ruairi Og, Cushendall       B

Prelim Winner                   C

A v B

C v A

B v C

Group 2

Shamrocks, Loughgiel      D

St Johns                                E

St Galls                                 F

D v E

F v D

E v F

Northern Switchgear Senior Football Championship Draw

Last season’s semi-final of the Senior Football Championship between eventual winners Cargin and former champions St Gall’s was regarded by many as the game of the year, and indeed game of the decade. A game in which Cargin snatched victory with the last kick of the game, a wonder strike from Tomas McCann. Well we could be on for a repeat, and who knows maybe a repeat of the other semi-final between Creggan and St John’s after the four seeded teams came out of the hat in Monday night’s draw at the Dunsilly Hotel.
Cargin joined St Galls, Creggan and St John’s as the seeded teams, progressing to the quarter-final.  They will face the winners of Rossa or Division One newcomers, Gort na Mona.  The Erin’s Own manager Damian Cassidy told us they will be taking nothing for granted: “When it comes to the championship you have to beat all comers but no matter the opposition.

“In my experience of football, you can never make assumptions.  That can have massive repercussions and we’ll be avoiding that.

“We will be fully prepared.  We will prepare for that Quarter-Final match just like we did for the championship final.”

Last year’s beaten finalists Creggan will have an eye on the Lámh Dhearg and Ahoghill match as they face the winner of that last eight tie.  2017 beaten finalists St John’s will face the winners of Portglenone and St Brigid’s in their quarter-final.

Naomh Éanna’s award for claiming the Intermediate championship last year is a preliminary round tie against Aghagallon with the winners to face St Teresa’s in the last eight.  The winner of that tie will take on St Galls, making up the quarter-final draw.

A few mouth-watering ties in prospect and it’s never easy to predict but we could have a repeat of last years all south-west final on our hands once again and the possibility of another Cargin and St Galls semi-final.  There’s plenty of football to be played between now and then however with plenty of sides fancying their chances of taking a scalp in the 2019 championship.

Preliminary Round

St Mary’s Aghagallon vs Naomh Éanna

Last 8

Lámh Dhearg vs Ahoghill               Game 2

Prelim vs St Teresa’s                       Game 3

Gort na Mona vs Rossa                  Game 4

Portglenone vs St Brigid’s             Game 5


Naomh Gall vs Game 3 winners QF1

Creggan vs Game 2 winners        QF2

St John’s vs Game 5 winners       QF 3

Cargin vs Game 4 winners            QF4


QF2 winner vs QF3 winner

QF1 winner vs QF4 winner