Saffron Aid trolley dash at Sainsbury’s in the Kennedy Centre aids SVP


Sainsbury’s in the Kennedy Centre Belfast was the venue for tonight’s Saffron Aid Trolly Dash which raised funds for the St Vincent de Paul charity. County footballer Donal Nugent, county hurler Conor McCann and county camog Nuala McQuillan were joined by players from St James, Aldergrove, Sarsfields, St Teresa’s, MacUilins, Oisins and Ruairi Og as they filled their trolleys with items from the toy isles, with Sainsbury’s generously picking up the tab. Our picture above includes Kennedy Centre manager John Jones, Antrim PRO Sean Kelly, Archie Kinney, SVP Regional Vice President, Eamon from Quarter Accountants (who donated to the fund), Aldergrove GAC chairman Paul McCarthy and Sinead Steele of St Enda’s.

Ruairi Og Cushendall Juvenile Awards evening

Pics by Sean Paul McKillop

Left –  Principal Mrs Smart presents the p7 cCmogie award Annie Kearney                         right – Mrs Smart with Joseph McLaughlin P7 Hurling award

Left – Mrs Bailey of Glenann PS presents Marie Clare McAlister with the p7 Camogie award while Oisín Woodhouse received the P7 Hurling award

Under Camogie team and Under 8 Hurling team

Under 8 Camogie team and the Under 10 Hurling team award winners

Conor Carson presents the Under 10 Most Improved award to Callagh Mooney (left), the Under 10 Hurler of the Year award to Oran McCambridge (centre) and the Under 12 Hurler of the Year award to Joe McNaughon

Left – Camogie chairperson Anne McNaughton presents the U10 Joint Camogs of Year  awards Meabh McAlister (left) and Meabh Graham                                                                   Top right – Anne McNaughton with U10 Joint most improved players Erin Delargy & Amy McAlister                                                                                                                                          Bottom right – Anne McNaughton presents P7 Girls Schools awards to Marie Clare McAlister & Annie Kearney

Left – Juvenile Chairman Emmett Mcnaughton presents U12 Most Improved award to Stephen McAuley. Right – Emmett McNaughton with P7 Boys Schools Winners Joesph McLaughlin and Oisin Woodhouse

Anne McNaughton with U10 joint most improved award to Erin Delargy & Amy McAlister while Orlagh O’Hara presents the U12 Most Improved to Caoimhe Morgan

Left – Orlagh O Hara with Joint U12 Player of years Orlaith McAlister & Abi McMeill    Right – Orlagh O’Hara presents the Under 14 Player of the Year award to Lara Haughey


 Right – Camogie chairperson presents the U16 Camogie Player of Year award to Caoimhe McNaughton and Left – Coimhe with her dad Emmet McNaughton

Loughgiel Shamrocks awards dinner

CRLL5352Members of the Loughgiel Camogie teams who won the Senior Championship, Intermediate Championship, Senior and Junior Feis Cups plus Divisions 1,2 and 3 of the All County League are seen here at the Loughgiel Shamrocks annual dinner in the Tullyglass Hotel. 

Left- Loughgiel captains Declan Gillan, Shay Casey and Conor Carey with the trophies the hurlers won this season. Declan captained the Senior Reserve Championship winning team, Shay captained the Division 1 League and Feis Cup winning teams while Conor captained the Junior League and McCaughan Cup winning teams     Right – Club treasurer Jack McNaughton presents the Christy Ring All Star Award to Chrissy O’Connell

Committee member Padraig Connolly presents the Junior Hurler of the Year award to Cormac Watt, club chairman John Campbell presents the Senior Hurler of the Year award to Dan McCloskey and Jack McNaughton presents the Under 21 Hurler of the Year award to Shan McGrath.

Left – Karen McCormick presents the Senior Reserve Hurler of the Year award to Declan Gillan                                                                                                                                        Right – Jack McNaughton presents the Overall Club Hurler of the Year award to Declan Gilland and Michael McGarry

Left – Francis Boyle presents the Minor Hurler of the Year award to Sean McFadden        Right – Captain and vice-captains of the all conquering Under 16 team who won North Antrim Shield, All County League, All County Championship and McMullun Cup, receive the trophiess from Carmel McGarry. L-R, Cathal Hargan, Michael McGarry and Shane O’Boyle.

L-R, Roisn McCormick receives the Antrim Poc Fada, Ulster Poc Fada, Ulster Colleges All Star and Antrim’s Most Promising Juvenile Camog from John Campbell.  – Club president Seamus Richmond presents the club’s Overall Most Improved player award to Shane O’Boyle – Seamus Richmond presents the the Senior Camog of the Year award to Ciara Boyle. 

Left – Padraig Connolly presents the Division 3 Player  of the Year award to Maeve McCormick. Middle – Colleges All Stars Amy Boyle and Roisin McCormick. Right – County Camogie chairperson Julia McMullan presents the Division 3 League trophy to team captain Denise McGarry

Left – Club secretary Francis Traynor presents the Clubperson of the Year award to Carmel McGarry.  Right – Karen McCormick presents the Division 2 Player of the Year award to Katie McKillop

Left- Julia McMullan presents the Senior Camogie Championship Cup, Division 1 League and Senior Feis Cup to captain Emma McFadden (left) and vice-captain Maeve Connolly.  Right – Julia McMullan presents the Division 2 League Cup, Intermediate Championship Cup and Junior Feis Cup to team captain Eimear McGarry (right) and vice-captain Maria Lynn 

Left – Team captain Roisin McCormick  and vice-captain Carla McGarry receive the Under 16 League and Championship cups from Julia McMullan.                                      Right – Team management member Karen McCormick with the six Loughgiel players who were members of the Antrim team who won this season’s Ulster A and All Ireland Minor B Championship L-R, Roisin McComick Finvola McVeigh, Katie Lynn, Maeve McCormick, Amy Boyle, Rebecca Hargan. 

The committee of the Loughgiel Shamrocks Hurling and Camogie Club at their annual awards evening in the Tullyglass Hotel.                                                              Right – Angela Boyle presents the Ulster Minor Camogie Championship Cup to Antrim captain Katie Lynn.



Davitt’s hurlers into Leinster semi-final

While most of the Antrim club’s hurling season is over, including our Senior, Intermediate and Junior winners, Junior B winners Davitt’s season is still going on. The Belfast side entered the competition which was organised by the Kileedy GAA club in Limerick. Last weekend the Antrim champions beat Kildare champions Eire Og Corra Choill and now face Kilkenny side John Locks of Callan in Sunday’s semi-final at Heywood Coolege in Co Laois. Good luck lads!DSC_2047-768x512

Davitt’s beat Kildare champions

Tír na nÓg Juvenile presentation evening

St MacNissi’s Parish Centre was packed to capacity on Sunday evening for the Tír na nÓg Juevnile presentations. Guest of honour was Antrim goalkeeper Chrissy O’Connell  and the Loughgiel man was kept busy handing out awards during a very enjoyable evening. The Saffron Gael went along to capture the action.



Club chairperson Dearbhail McParland makes presentation to guest of honour Chrissy O’Connell, to St Benedicts College and St MacNissi’s and Mount St Michael’s Primary Schools


Club chairperson Dearbhail McParland presents a sponsorship cheque to Paddy McIlwaine of the Saffron Gael at the Tír na nÓg juvenile awards evening Tir na nÓg juveniles - 16