Orlagh Laverty wins Ulster Poc Fada

There was success for Antrim at yesterday evening’s Ulster Poc Fada when Orlagh Laverty of Loughgiel Shamrocks won the Under 16 Camogie title. Antrim champion Orlagh gave a top class display to emulate her club colleague Roisin McFadden who won the title in 2017. The event, which was once again hosted by Shane O’Neill’s in Glenarm, covered the course on Gowkstown Hill in Feystown.

The mens event was won by Ballygalget and Down star Gareth Magic Johnston who was first man off, and from his first poc of the ball it was clear he would be hard to beat. Louise Dougan of Slaughtneill and Derry retained the Senior Camogie crown while Oisin Marley of Donegal retained his Under 16 Boys title.

After the event the competitors and spectators returned to the Shane O’Neill’s clubroms where Ulster GAA vice President Ciaran McLaughlin and Ulster Camogie President Jennifer Cultra presented the awards

Orlagh Laverty in action during the Ulster Poc Fada in Glenarm
Oisin Marley of Donegal retained his Under 16 Boys title
Orlagh Laverty receives her medal from Ulster Camogie President Jennifer Cultra
Aidan Scullion of the host club Shane O’Neill’s represented Antrim in the Under 16 Boys event
Antrim champion Christopher Murray in action in the Ulster finals
Antrim Senior Camogie winner Aisling O’Reilly in action in last night’s Ulster finals at Feystown.

Cushendall camogs share Regional Feile honours

National Feile na nGael Camogie

Cushendall U14s went to the Regional Feile na nGeal in Dublin and after a nail biting final, came away as joint winners. Having topped their group, they came from a point down at half-time , to run out 3 point winners over St Anne’s,Kilkenny in the semi-final. Host club Naomh Maur’s were the opposition in the final, and it was the Dublin girls who lead for most of the decider. But the Cushendall girls’ never-say-die attitude saw them grab an injury time equaliser to force extra-time. Four points were shared in the extra ten minutes, and rules decreed that the title be shared. A fitting result, to a thrilling final in which neither team deserved to loose. 

Cushendall Capt, Abi McNeill with her Naomh Maur counterpart with the Regional Feile trophy

Tir na nÓg Centenary Gala

Tir na Óg Randalstown held their Centenary Gala in the Tullyglass Hotel on Friday night and what a night it turned out to be. The 500 patrons attending were joined by special guests which included Ulster GAA President Oliver Galligan, Antrim county chairman Ciaran McCavana, Bishop Donal McKeown, Bishop of Derry, who is a native of Randalstown, former PP Fr Con Boyle and current St MacNissi’s PP Fr John Forsythe.

Renowned compere Gerry Donnelly kept things moving smoothly through an evening of nostalgia, song and dance. The Allen School of Dancing put on a show to remember before BBC’s Thomas Niblock, who had worked on a video of the club history, interviewed some of the club’s key figures and showed video clips of some of the club’s greatest characters.

The Tir na nÓg Centenary committe with club chairperson Dearbhail McParland and guest of honour Ulster GAA President Oliver Galligan.
The Allen School of Dancing who entertained the guests at the Tir na nÓg Gala
Ulster GAA President Oliver Galligan addresses the guests
Club treasurer Dermot Corr and club chairperson Dearbhail McParland presents a cheque for £1500 to the Saffron Gael at their Gala dinner in the Tullyglass Hotel

North Antrim Cumann na mBunscol skills

P7 Skills winners St Joseph’s Dunloy

St Patrick’s Loughgiel won the North Antrim Cumann na mBunscol Hurling skills at today’s finals in Cushendall as the local schools wound up their year’s hurling. St Joseph’s Dunloy, who have had such a great year, won the Camogie skill to add yet another piece of silverware to their already bulging trophy cabinet.

Liam McGarry of St Patrick’s Loughgiel received his award from Mr Dinsmore, while Erin McMullan won the P7Camogie Skills

Erin McMullan of St Jospeh’s won the individual P7 Camogie skills, beating Amy McAlister of Glenann PS in a play-off while Liam McGarry of St Patrcik’s Loughgiel took the P7 Hurling Skills award, beating Fintan Bradley of Glennan in a play-off. Daniel Lynn of St Patrick’s won the P5 Hurling Skills while Paddy Morgan of St Ciaran’s PS Cushendun was the P6 winner.

Daniel Lynn (left) of St Patrick’s Loughgiel won the P5 Hurling Skills while Paddy Morgan of St Ciran’s Cushendun won the P6 award.

Rosie McMullan of St Ann’s PS Corkey won the P5 Camogie Skills while Louise McBride of St Olcan’s Armoy took the P6 Camogie honours with the highest individual score of the day.

Rosie McMullan (right) of St Ann’s Corkey who won the P5 Camogie Skills and Louise McBrdie of St Olcan;s Armoy (left) who had the top score of the day to win the P6 skills

Mr Dinsmore of St Patrick’s Glenariffe presented the awards to the winners after the finals.

Good luck to our Feile champions

Good luck to our Feile champions who today travel south for the annual Feile which this year is being held in Cork and North Kerry. Feile A huring champions Loughgiel are being hosted by Bride Rovers in Cork where they compet in the Division 2 section. Loughgiel of course have competed in Feile many times over the years but its the first time for our Feile B champions All Saints Ballymena who travel to Clyda Rovers in Cork to compete in Section 4.

Cushendall Ruairi Og who won the Feile C in Antrim are also on their way to Cork where they are hosted by Buttevant

It is a massive weekend for Loughgiel with their camogs also competing in Feile. Just imagine families who have children on both teams. They will be stretched to the limit to keep everyone happy. Their first game is in Middleton this evening at 5.30 where they take on the host club and they are in action again at 7 when they play Naas in Ballinacura.

Feile B camogie champions Ballycastle are in Bishopstown this evening where they play their hosts at 6-15. Later in the evening they take on Kildalkey at the same venue. The throw-in in that game is 7-45.

Cushendall camogs are in Dublin this weekend for the Regional Feile where they play their hosts Naimh Muar.