Saffron Aid trolley dash at Sainsbury’s in the Kennedy Centre aids SVP


Sainsbury’s in the Kennedy Centre Belfast was the venue for tonight’s Saffron Aid Trolly Dash which raised funds for the St Vincent de Paul charity. County footballer Donal Nugent, county hurler Conor McCann and county camog Nuala McQuillan were joined by players from St James, Aldergrove, Sarsfields, St Teresa’s, MacUilins, Oisins and Ruairi Og as they filled their trolleys with items from the toy isles, with Sainsbury’s generously picking up the tab. Our picture above includes Kennedy Centre manager John Jones, Antrim PRO Sean Kelly, Archie Kinney, SVP Regional Vice President, Eamon from Quarter Accountants (who donated to the fund), Aldergrove GAC chairman Paul McCarthy and Sinead Steele of St Enda’s.

Lamh Dhearg GAC juvenile presentation


Lamh Dhearg juvenile presentation evening

Lamh Dhearg helde their Juvenile Presentation of Awards in the Devenish and the event was a very professionally organised and enjoyable evening. Special thanks to Brian Fegan for his time and effort in taking and editing the brilliant range of quality photographs which captured the atmosphere of the night. Lámh Dhearg Abú!!

Here are a selection of photographs from the evening and the saffron Gael extends its thanks to Brian Fegan and the lamh Dhearg club and congratulations to all those who received awards on the night.

Antrim draw Fermanagh in new Ulster Minor Football Championship format

IMG_0739 copyUlster Minor Football (Under 17) Championship 2018

The draw for the minor football championship at under-17 was made by Comhairle Uladh last week and Antrim are to face the challenge of Fermanagh in the opening round.

The Saffron’s may well be at ease with their opening round draw which is in a home setting with ground advantage in favour.

Tyrone secured the initial under-17 title both at provincial and national level will travel across to Donegal in the first round in what looks a tricky assignment

The competition will proceed on April 21st with the preliminary round game involving Derry and Monaghan with the quarter finals on the following week-end.

The minor championship will proceed on the under-17 format on the National stage in future to replace the old under-18 system, with a new under-20 age group, replacing under-21, set to accompany the senior competition through the provincial, and on to the All Ireland final stage.

The full draw as follows;

Sat 21st April

Doire v Muineachan (a) preliminary round

Sat 28th April

Aontroim v Fear Manach (b)

Dun Na nGall v Tir Eoghan (c)

An Dun v Ard Mhacha (d)

An Cabhan v Doire/Muineachan (e)

Hurling Workshop at Lamh Dhearg GAC this weekend

j.peg l

Hurling Workshop at Lamh Dhearg

Ulster GAA coach Kieran Megraw has sent us details of a hurling workshop at his club, Lamh Dhearg this weekend. A number of top coaches will be taking part in the workshop including Brian Hogan from Kilkenny.

This is an opportunity for coaches and players from Ulster to observe, develop their coaching skills and ask questions of players who have played and competed at the highest level of hurling.

Can you please confirm if you are attending asap as we want to finalise numbers by Wednesday. Thanks to the clubs and coaches who have registered to date.

To register please e mail

Cost is £15 includes lunch, cheques to made payable to GAA

Thanks to Martin Fogarty, National Hurling Development Manager who is also attending

St Comgall’s GAC awards night

Pics by Dave Pettard 

Left – Sean Taggart presents Tom Patchett with the U16 Player of the Year award.          Right – Eoin McLaughlin receives the Most Improved Minor Player award from Peter McAuley.

LEFT – Peter McAuley presents Tom Patchett with the Minor Players Player of the Year award. RIGHT – Rory McLarnon receivesthe Minor Player of the Year award.

LEFT – Amanda Leahy picks up an award at the St Comgall’s dinner. RIGHT – Siobhan McQuillen is presented with the Ladies Player of the Year award by James McLornan,St Comgall's - 7St Comgall’s PP Fr. Sean Emerson presents James and Jenny McLornan with the Club Person of the Year award.

LEFT – Colm Logue receives the Senior Reserves Most Improved Player award from Joe McCavana. RIGHT – Joe McCavana presents Arron McGaw with the Senior Reserves Player of the Year award.

LEFT – Antrim County chairman Collie Donnelly presents Patrick Quinn and Conor McAuley with the Seniors Players Player of the Year. RIGHT – Antrim County Chairman Collie Donnelly presents the Senior Footballer of the Year award to Peter McAuley

LEFT – Club photographer Eelco Westerhuis receives the Chairman’s Award for services to the club from Paddy Quinn. RIGHT – St Comgall’s GAC chairman Paddy Quinn with guests of honour, county chairman Collie Donnelly (left) and Fr Sean Emerson PP at the club’s annual awards dinner. St Comgall's - 13Picking up awards at the St Comgall’s GAC dinner at the White River Hotel, Toome