Posts by thesaffrongael

Photographer and GAA writer who has been covering hurling, football and camogie for almost forty years

Loughgiel Shamrocks Juvenile Awards

Loughgiel Shamrocks held their juvenile presentation awards in the Millennium Centre last weekend where the young teams who have won honours for the club this season received their trophies. Top of the list was the Under 14 hurling and camogie teams who completed the Feile na nGael double in both North Antrim and All County. Hadning out the awards were senior hurling and camogie stars Liam Watson, Eddie McCloskey, Lucia McNaughton and Clare McKillop

Pics by Enda Casey

Loughgiel Under 14 hurlers who received the North Antrim and All County Feile, League and Championship trophies
Loughgiel Under 14 Girls who won the North Antrim and All County Feile trophies
Darragh Patterson received the Feile and league trophies from Eddie McCloskey and Liam Watson
Members of the Under 16 Hurling team at last week’s awards
Members of the Under 16 Camogie team
Clare McKillop presents the Uner 12 Camogie Plaeyr of the Year award to joint winners Mariea Laverty and Caela Dobbin
Loughgiel Under 12 Camogs
Loughgiel Under 12 Hurlers

Lamh Dhearg juvenile awards

Lamhs holds 35th annual juvenile presentation at Devenish Complex

By Kevin Herron

The Devenish ballroom hosted Lámh Dhearg’s 35th annual juvenile presentation on Saturday 16th of November .

Guest speaker for the evening was Paula O’Hagan, captain of Clonduff All-Ireland intermediate winning camogie side. Paula delivered an inspirational address to all gathered for the evening.

Senior footballer and Antrim forward Kevin Quinn was also in attendance to help hand out awards on the evening and senior football captain and Lord Major John Finucane was also able to make a late appearance – having switched on the Christmas tree lights at Belfast City Hall.

Sean McIlhatton updated players and parents on plans for the new second pitch. This week the money raised to date has broken £100,000 .

Guest’s Paula and Kevin handed out individual and team honours on the evening.

Congratulations to all recipients:


U-10 Hurler of the Year – Matthew Murray & Oisin McLaren

U-12 Most improved Hurler – Mark McGinley

U-12 Hurler of the Year – Conor McConville

U-14 Coca-Cola Perpetual Trophy Award – Sean McCarthy

U-14 Most improved Hurler – Corey Camlin

U-14 Hurler of the Year & Féile Skills award – Donal Martin

U-16 Most improved player – Aidan Morrow

U-16 Hurler of the Year – Michael Braniff


U-10 Most improved Camog – Katie Flynn

U-10 Camog of the Year – Aoife Craig

U-12 Most improved Camog – Catriona Doran

U-12 Camog of the Year – Jodie Peoples

U-14 Most improved Camog – Carly Lowe

U-14 Camog of the Year – Ciara Maguire

U-16 Most improved Camog – Roise Cunningham

U-16 Camog of the Year – Isla Annett

Girls football:

U-10 Girls Most Improved Player – Eimear McCambridge

U-10 Girls Player of the Year – Aoife Craig

U-12 Girls Most Improved Player – Aoife Fitzsimons

U-12 Girls Player of the Year – Lauren Smyth

U-14 Girls Most Improved Player – Aimee Owens

U-14 Girls Player of the Year – Isla Annett

U-16 Girls Player of the Year – Raicheal Mulholland & Robyn Murray

Boys football:

U-10 Boys Most Improved Player – Tiernan Lee

U-10 Boys Footballer of the Year – Dylan Fegan

U-12 Boys Most Improved Footballer of the Year – Joseph Cleland

U-12 Boys Footballer of the Year – Ronan Webb

U-14 Boys Most Improved Football of the Year – Conall McGarry

U-14 Boys Footballer of the Year – Declan Young

U-16 Boys Most Improved Footballer of the Year – Matthew O’Boyle

U-16 Boys Footballer of the Year- Niall McGarry

Individual awards:

Diarmuid Frazer Memorial Cup – Dylan Fegan

Youth Culture Award – Aoife Fitzsimons

Charlie Smyth Award for Most Overall Improved Player – Erin Craddock

Sam McGarry Award for Outstanding Commitment and Desire – The Gaisce Volunteers

& mentor Damo McGuigan

Davy McGarry Award for Youth Personality of the Year – Tiernach Fegan

Special thanks to everyone who helped organise the evening and donate prizes for the ballot and thank you the staff at the Devenish Complex

Pat Battler Mullaney RIP

By Dennis O’Hara

PAT ‘Battler’ Mullaney, one of Antrim and Ulster’s most accomplished hurlers, died last weekend.

The stylish forward also campaigned with distinction with the Belfast Rossa GAC.

He belonged to a ‘Golden Age’ of hurling – during the 1950’s and early 1960’s – and was a key performer for a rampant Rossa side that was the first team to clinch four successive Antrim Senior Hurling Championships, the opener in 1956. The fabulous formation also paraded the uniquely gifted dual county and provincial star, Seamus ‘Stout’ McDonald.

The legendary Mullaney was involved in some notable county conflicts, an era that included players such as Kevin Armstrong, Seamus Gallagher, Billy Feeney, Robbie and Brendan Elliott, Brendan ‘The Bear’ Donnelly, Bobby McMullan, Dessie Cormican, Paddy Morgan and Johnny Coyle.

One of the outstanding victories during which Mullaney produced inspired stick work was the NHL 7-4 to 5-5 win against mighty Kilkenny at Corrigan Park in 1953. ‘Battler’ was also heavily involved in Antrim’s win of the All-Ireland Junior Hurling Championship of 1959.

The death of Pat Mullaney, once a competent and competitive amateur golfer at the Balmoral and Ballycastle Clubs, followed the recent passing of another ex-Antrim hurler of the 1950’s – Pat Flynn of Belfast Patrick Sarsfields.

Silverbridge pay the penalty as Termon advance

FonaCAB Ulster Minor Football Tournament (Preliminary Round)

Termon (Donegal) 1-10 Silverbridge (Armagh) 0-6

This preliminary round of the St. Paul’s tournament, played at Colaiste Feirste  saw a good Termon of Donegal overcome the challenge of Silverbridge of Armagh to advance to the quarter-final where they will face Emmyvale of Monaghan next Sunday, 15th December. The Tir Connaill champions had it mostly their own way throughout though they did survive a mighty goalmouth scramble.

The Donegal side led 0-6 to 0-2 after 15 minutes and a goal from the penalty spot from Ryan McFadden saw them push on to a commanding 1-7 to 0-4 lead at the halfway stage and they were good value for that lead.

After the break McFadden was offered the opportunity to increase the Termon lead from the same scenario but this time the Silverbridge keeper dived full length to his left to make an excellent save and deny the Termon man.

It had little influence on the result however and in a low scoring second half Termon outscored Silverbridge 0-3 to 0-2 and on this showing will fancy their chances of giving the fonaCAB tournament a real rattle.