Snowball or football as weather calls a halt at Slemish Park?

Was it football or snowball at Slemish Park, Ballymena where 30 brave young men took to the field to contest the second round game of this year’s Feile.

In cold, windy but playable conditions referee, Ciaran Lagan threw in the ball to get All Saints v Rasharkin under way but conditions worsened almost immediately with the arriving snow blown by the strong wind beating towards the Woodside Road end.

The Portglenone official wisely called proceedings to a halt with no objection from either set of players, mentors or supporters who will all be hoping for improved conditions for the re-fixed game.

Glenavy advance in Feile Shield

Feile Shield first round

St. Comgall’s 1-2 Glenavy 8-6

St Joseph’s Glenavy U14s made the short trip on Sunday morning to Allen Park, Antrim to play St Comgalls in the SW Antrim Feile Shield, both sides keen to register a win following defeats in the previous week.

Despite the wintery conditions the 4G pitch at Allen Park meant there was little doubt about the game going ahead, although the failure of a referee to show did mean that the game threw in 15minutes late while both clubs consulted and agreed on St Comgalls officiating the first half and St Josephs the second.

Glenavy got off to a bright start with some early direct attacks that resulted in the first goal. St Comgalls soon found their feet and after a spell of good pressure in the forward lines, as Glenavy found it difficult to clear their lines, the St Comgall’s attack pounced to get the equalising score.

Both sides traded scores over the next 5 minutes however the direct running of the Glenavy players and good support play meant that they were the team in the front foot and towards the end of the first half started to pull away on the score board.

At the half time break it was Glenavy in the lead with a score of 4-2 to 1-1.

In the second half the conditions took a turn for the worse with snow and wind making it difficult for both teams to play good football.

Glenavy picked up where they left off at half time and were on the front foot. The forwards were enjoying plenty of ball as a result of a strong defence who cut out several St Comgall’s attacks and played it simple in the conditions to push their side forward. Unlike the previous week Glenavy converted their chances to stretch their lead.

St Comgalls to their credit rallied towards the end however a mix of some good turn overs and the conditions making it very difficult to score kept Glenavy out in front.

At the final whistle Glenavy ran out winners on a score of 8-6 to 1-2.

Credit must go to both teams who produced some excellent passages of football, playing competitively and sportingly to the final whistle.

Holders advance in Girls Feile opening round

Elaine Kelly: Report and Photographs

Girls Feile round one

St. Paul’s 1-1 Moneyglass 3-4

Holders St Ergnat’s faced St Paul’s  in the opening round of the girls Feile on Sunday morning at woodlands in terrible weather  conditions. Despite a battling performance from the Shaw’s Road girls the holders advanced and are on course for their third Antrim title in as many years.

Scores for Moneyglass today came from

Caoimhe McErlane 1/0

Orla  Dobbin 2/1   1 from a plenty

Maria O’Boyle 0/1

Sophie McNally  0/1

Annie Griffin 0/1

All score were taken brilliantly and well set up from strong consistent play and accurate passing from Sarah O’Neill , Aoife Kelly , Caoimhe McErlane and Sophie McNally. Moneyglass were strong in defence with Erin Duffin and Cara McKeefry solid and  excellent  goal keeping by Emily McCoy. Every girl on the pitch played their part in the victory.

St Paul’s came out all guns blazing and gave it everything but Moneyglass proved too strong on the day .

St Paul’s scores came from

Rebecca McConville 1/0

& Orleigha McGuinness 0/1

The  Moneyglass girls go on to the next round of Feile with a confident win under their belt   .

Final score

Moneyglass 3-4

St Pauls 1/1

An excellent job as always today by the ref who was Anthony Carleton.

Well done to both teams for playing  some great football and congratulations to Moneyglass .

Extra time win for Cargin at Aghagallon

O’Cahan Cup (round one)

St Mary’s Aghagallon 1-10 Erin’s Own Cargin 2-13 aet.

It took a period of extra time in this opening O’Cahan cup game at a cold and blustery Aghagallon to determine the winner as Cargin came from behind to gain access into the next round.

The home side had the advantage of the strong breeze in the opening half and the St Mary’s men took advantage to build up a six point lead at the end of the opening period.

Cargin were facing the wrath of the elements and the strong gusts, occasionally accompanied by sleet and although their defenders did their utmost to contain their hosts, Aghagallon raised eight white flags in the opening half hour.

The home side turned around with a 0-08 to 0-02 lead and will look back on reflection on openings spurned.

Gareth Magee (3), Adam Loughran (2), Ruairi Mc Cann, Ciaran Brady and Mark Mc Afee raised white flags in the first period with the ever lively Tomas McCann getting both the Cargin scores.

Cargin started the second half with the wind behind them but the home side made things more difficult for the Toome men when Gareth Magee found the net.

Cargin were still lacking in the offensive but when Pat Brannigan was halted in progress on the visitors 40 Tomas McCann seized the initiative. He drove through the middle and when he off loaded to Justin Crozier the central defender finished in the style of an accomplished forward, sliding the ball to the back of the net.

The Toome men pushed on from this major but although they finished well the clock was against them and at the end of 60 minutes at 1-10 apiece extra time was to be added.

Having finished strongly the Toome men continued in the same mode in the extra minutes and an early goal inspired by the drive and the guile of Tomas Mc Cann most ably assisted by the finish of Ciaran Bradley was to prove the clincher.

Aghagallon did not trouble the scoreboard attendant in the remainder with Tomas Mc Cann (2), and Michael Clarke splitting the posts for the visitors to ensure their progress at 2-13 to 1-10.

Referee Kevin Parke (St Enda’s)

Aghagallon: Damien O’ Hagen, Aaron Doherty, Michael Mc Stravick, Aiden Mulholland, Caolan Farr, Jack Lenaghan, Pat Brannigan, Des Marshall, Ruairi Mc Cann (0-02), Francis Bustard, Gareth Magee (1-04), Mark Mc Afee (0-01), Ciaran Brady (0-01), Adam Loughran (0-02), Michael Mc Kenna


Daniel Doherty for A Doherty

Stephen Brannigan for C Farr

Seamus Brannigan for R Mc Cann

Cargin: John Mc Nabb, Donagh Mc Keever, Marty Kane, Christopher Bateson, James Laverty, Justin Crozier (1-00), Ronan Gribbin, John Carron (0-01), Kevin Mc Shane, Ciaran Bradley (1-01), Tomas Mc Cann (0-09), David Mc Elhone, Enda Mc Grogan, Pat Shivers (0-01), Michael Clarke (0-01)


Mark Keegan for C Bateson

Tony Scullion for E Mc Grogan

Gerard Mc Corley for D Mc Elhone

South West Antrim (results)

Abbey Cup

Group A

Clooney Gaels 3-14 Kickham’s Creggan 2-12

Con Magees Glenravel 0-12 St Mary’s Rasharkin 0-02

Group B

Loch Mor Dal gCais v St Enda’s (postponed)

Heffron’s of Randalstown Feile

Cuchullian’s Dunloy 2-04 Con Magees Glenravel 0-05

St Enda’s v Kickham’s Creggan (abandoned snow)

St Mary’s Aghagallon 0-04 Erin’s Own Cargin 3-10

All Saint’s Ballymena v St Mary’s Rasharkin (abandoned snow)

Kelly’s Mace Dunloy Feile Shield

St Ergnat’s Moneyglass 9-05 Tir na Nog Randalstown 2-02

St Comgall’s Antrim 1-03 St Joseph’s Glenavy 4-04

O’ Cahan Cup

St Mary’s Aghagallon 1-10 Erin’s Own Cargin 2-13 aet

St Ergnat’s Moneyglass v St Mary’s Rasharkin (postponed)

Casement’s Portglenone 3-14 All Saint’s Ballymena 0-06

If anyone has a report on any of the games we have not covered please send it to