St Louis bridged a 27 year gap with 2015 Mageean win

Mageean Cup Preview

St Louis Ballymena won the Mageean Cup for the first time since 1988 thanks to a 2-16 to 1-9 victory over St Mary’s CBS in the 2015 at the Dub.

St Louis were on top from the start and a Conal Cunning goal gave a great platform The Ballymena school took control, and though John Darragh gave the St Mary’s some hope with a goal just before the half time the winners still led by 1-10 to 0-3 at the interval.

James McNaughton

St Louis led 1-10 to 1-3 at half-time with Ciaran Elliott adding their second goal soon after the restart. With a team of stars, nine of whom went on to play senior county hurling with Antrim, there was no stopping the Ballymena school in the second half

With Seaan Elliott, Keelan Molloy, James McNaughton and Sean Duffin picking off the points, and Elliott grabbing his team’s second goal, they went on to win by ten points to win their second Mageean title.

Conal Cunning lifits Seaan Elliott on his shoulders after the game.
St Louis celebrate their great win over St Mary’s in the Mageean Cup final at the Dub in 2015. Pic by John McIlwaine

St. Paul’s tournament starts this weekend

The St. Paul’s GAC Belfast Ulster Minor Football club Fona/Cab Tournament returns to the GAA calender this weekend after a three-year Covid-enforced abscence.

The tournament is one of the most exciting competitions in the GAA calendar as the minor – now U17 due to the changed age grades – champions of each Ulster county make the trip to the Shaw’s Road to battle it out for the Jimmy McConville Cup and with this year being the 40th anniversary of its inception, there is no better time for its return.

Burren of Down and Antrim champions, St. Brigid’s get the action under way this Saturday with the first quarter-final at Shaws Road while St. Molaise of Fermanagh and Four Masters of Donegal meet in a preliminary Round game ast Colaiste Feirste at 5pm.

On Sunday Cavan champions Ramor United take on Dungiven of Derry, a county whose club’s have a very proud record in this competition, at Shaw’s Road at 1pm.

The third and fourth quarter finals take place on Saturday 17th Decemeber when Clann na Gael of Armagh play the winners of the Four Masters v St. Molaise preliminary round game, while later in the day Donaghmore takes on Scotstown at Colaiste Feirste at 5pm

The first semi-final is scheduled for Sunday the 18th December at St. Paul’s while the second semi-final will take place on Boxing Day at the same venue with the final on New Years Day at St. Paul’s.

The Full list of Fixtures are

Saturday 10th December 

Quarter Final 1


Shaw’s Road 

Burren (Down) v St Brigid’s (Antrim)

Saturday 10th December 

Preliminary Round


Colaiste Feirste 3G 

St Molaise (Fermanagh) v Four Masters (Donegal) 

Sunday 11th December 

Quarter Final 2 


Shaw’s Road 

Ramor United (Cavan) v Dungiven (Derry)

Saturday 17th December

Colaiste Feirste 1.30pm

Quarter-final 3

Clann na Gael (Armagh) v Preliminary Round winners

Saturday 17th December

Colaiste Feirste 5pm

Quarter-final 4

Donaghmore v Scotstown

Sunday 18th December

Semi-final 1

St. Pauls

Monday 26th December

Semi-final 2

1st January 2023


St. Pauls

Sarsfields clinch Berringer Shield

South Antrim Berringer Shield Final

Sarsfields 4-10-2-06 St Pauls

Kevin Herron reports from Falls Park 

Sarsfields were recently crowned Berringer Shield champions after getting the better of near-neighbours St Pauls in the decider. 

The Paddies were quick to settle into proceedings with Daniel Smyth converting back-to-back frees and Philip McPeake squeezing a shot between the posts. 

They extended their on 11 minutes with the first goal of the game, Garry Lennon saw his shot parried, but Daire McMenamin followed in on the loose ball and shot to the net to give the Paddies a 1-03-0-00 lead. 

Daniel Smyth lines up a further score for the Paddies

Smyth (free) and McPeake added further points in the aftermath before St Pauls hit back with twenty minutes on the clock. 

Liam Garland dropped a free short and Sean Munce did enough to fist the ball to the net and get his side up and running for the afternoon. 

60-seconds later and St Pauls were really back in business when James Ferran stroked home at the back post to make it 1-05-2-00. Points were traded thereafter between Caolan McDonnell and Conall Duffy (free).  

Sarsfields regained control before the break when a scramble ensued in the area and Daniel Smyth turned the ball home to give his side a 2-06-2-01 lead at the interval. 

The second half opened with both sides cancelling each other out, Cormac Murray dropped a shot between the posts and St Pauls responded when keeper Jon-Joe Rodgers came out to take a free and picked out Conall Duffy to swing over a fantastic score. 

The Paddies found their third goal of the afternoon to extend their breathing space as Philip McPeake slid home to make it 3-08-2-02. 

Duffy kept St Pauls ticking over, converting successive frees – with Steven Hughes popping up at the other end in between times. 

The Shaws Road outfit fought to the last with Conall Finnegan steering over a well worked point. 

A few minutes from time Sarsfields claimed their fourth and final goal of the contest thanks to a fine strike from substitute Mark McCavanagh.

There was enough time for James Ferran and Steven Hughes to exchange late scores- but the game was beyond doubt at this stage as Sarsfields ran out deserving 4-10-2-06 winners at the conclusion. 

Shane O’Neill’s and St John’s were guests at a reception in Larne Town Hall

Glenarm Shane O’Neill’s Hurling Club and St John’s Carnlough Camogie Club were guests of honur at a recption hosted by Mayor of Mid & East Antrim Alderman Noel Williams, in Larne Town Hall to celebrate what has been a great year of the two clubs. Also in attendance were Cllr Gerardine Mulvenna and Cllr Andrew Clarke. To mark the occassion Alderman Williams presented Mid & East Antrim plaques to both clubs while he received autographed hurls from both clubs in return.

Mayor of Mid & East Antrim Alderman Noel Williams presents the council’s Coat of Arms to the St John’s Camogie Club, who were guests at a Mayor’s reception (along with the Glenarm Hurlers) in Larne Town Hall.
Mayor of Mid & East Antrim Alderman Noel Williams presents the council’s Coat of Arms Shane O’Neill’s Hurling Club, who were guests at a Mayor’s reception (along with St John’s Carnlough Camogie Club) to mark the clubs highly successful season. Included are Cllr Andrew Clarke and Cllr Gerardine Mulvenna.
Alderman Noel Williams is presented with special autographed hurls by Shane O’Neill’s Glenarm vice chairman Eamon Matthews, Under 10 team captain John Taggart, Under 12 Camogie captain Clodagh McAuley and St John’s Carnlough Campgie Club chairman Eamon McFadden.

Niamh McLaughlin was guest of honour at the Moneyglass Ladies juvenile awards.

Niamh McLaughlin (Donegal) presented the medals to the Moneyglass girls at the Moneyglass Ladies juvenile awards night in Toome. Niamh was recently named as LGFA Senior Player’s Player of the Year & also awarded an All Star. She brought her trophies along for the girls to have their photos taken with them. Since it was the first dinner since Covid the girls were presented with U14A 2021 Championship, U16A 2021 League, U14A 2022 Championship, U15 All Ireland Feile & U16A Championship medals.