Late McQuillan goal seals Con Magees win

yy--CMCR- 11

Con Magees Calum Higgins in action in his team’s Breslin Cup replay against Creggan

South West Antrim Under 16 Championship – Breslin Cup

Con Magees Glenravel 3-08 Kickham’s Creggan 2-08

by John McIlwaine

A goal in the final minute of the game by Con Magees substitute Ryan McQuillan earned his team victory over Creggan in Thursday evening’s Breslin Cup quarter-final replay at Fr Maginn Park. When the sides met in Creggan last week there was no separating these two evenly matched sides and when Creggan’s Dominic McAteer pointed a free to tie the game once again three minutes from the end it appeared this game was going to extra time. The game was still deadlocked as the clock ticked around to the final minute but McQuillan grabbed the chance when it presented itself and hit the score that booked his team a semi-final place.

Creggan were ahead in the opening minute when full forward Mark McCann found the back of the Con Magees net but the home team were soon back on terms as they goaled just two minutes later. Corner forward Brenainn O’Boyle grabbed his team second goal in the twelfth minute to go 2-1 to 1-0 ahead but Glenravel then took over and three points in a row closed the gap to a single score before Ryan McQuillan grabbed his first goal to give his team a 2-3 to 2-1 half time leads.yy--CMCR- 10

Two early second half points from Dominic McAteer had Creggan back on terms but a point from Eoin Hynds and two from Sean McKay eased the home team three ahead. However Creggan held the home team scoreless during the next eleven minutes during which time they hit back with two more from McAteer and one more from O’Boyle to level matters yet again. Sean McKay restored the home team’s lead when he pointed five minutes before the end of normal time but Creggan again had an answer and McAteer slotted over the equaliser from a free. With the light fading fast on a damp and dark evening it looked like it would take more than the regular sixty minutes to decide it once again, but the visitors hopes were dashed in the final minute when Con Magees substitute McQuillan poked the ball past the Creggan keeper Conn McGee ( I kid you not) to seal the win.


Rory McCloskey, Declan McCloskey, Fintan Leech, Sean McKay, Eoin Hyndes, Declan McCloskey, Bobby Jack Carey, Christopher Laverty, Shane O’Boyle, Darragh Donaghy, Sean McCusker, Calum Higgins, Jude Scullion, Cathal Hyndes, Sean Higgins.


Conn McGee, Odhran Hampsey, Rory McVeigh, Sean Donnelly, Sean Duffin, Morgan Nelson, Ethan Carey-Small, Eamon Og McAllister, Lee Johnston, Joe McAteer, Dominic McAteer, Diarmuid Mulholland, Aaron Hughes, Mark McCann, Brenainn O’Boyle

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.