Derry Too Strong for Young Saffrons


AD minors 10

Antrim’s Ruairi Brolly and Sean McKeever of Derry do battle in Clones


Ulster Minor Football Championship


Antrim 0-10 Derry 3-17


Derry proved a step too far for the Saffron minors on Sunday as the Oak Leaf county progressed to their third Ulster Final in a row. 16 points separated the teams at the end of the hour as the impressive Derry men powered past Antrim.
The travelling Antrim faithful had to wait until the 25th minute before seeing the Saffrons register their first score, Dermot McErlaine with the finish but Derry were already by eight points at that stage thanks largely to a Conor McCluskey penalty in the opening five minutes.
Antrim competed better after the interval but a brace of late goals from Swatragh man Oisin McWilliams ensured the Oak Leaf men will have an All-Ireland Quarter Final and an Ulster decider to look forward to.
Full match report to follow from Clones.

Antrim: Michael Byrne, Eoin Nagle, John Toner, Aidan Mulholland, Eamon Kelly, Eoghan McCabe, John McCaffrey, Ethan Gibson, Joe Maybin, Dermot McErlaine (0-3f), Tiarnán McAteer, Jamie Gribbin, Liam Quinn (0-1f), Dominic McEnhill, Ronan Kelly (0-3, 1f).
Subs: Peter Henvey for D McEnhill (inj 19), Jack Lenahan for J Toner (19), Ruairi Brolly (0-1) for J Maybin (32), Seanchan Duffin (0-1) for E Gibson (HT), Malachi Doherty (0-1) for E Nagle (37), Kealan McCann for J Gribbin (51)


Derry: Oran Hartin, Oran McGill, Conor McCluskey (1-0 pen), Sean McKeever, Simon McErlain, Dara Rafferty, Conleth McShane, Padraig McGrogan, Oisin McWilliams (2-2), Paddy Quigg (0-2, 1f), Richie Mullan (0-1) , Declan Cassidy (0-1), Ben McCarron (0-4, 1f), Lorcan McWilliams (0-2), Mark McGrogan (0-1).
Subs: Fergal Mortimer (0-3) for P Quigg (37), Tiarnan McHugh (0-1) for M McGrogan (37), Cormac Murphy for R Mullan (48), Callum Brown for D Cassidy (48), Martin Bradley for S McErlain (55), Tiarnan Walsh for O McWilliams (55).

Referee: Anthony Marron (Monaghan)

AD minors 17

Simon McErlain consoles fellow MacRory Cup winner Liam Quinn after the game

AD minors 14

Aidan Mulholland and Michael Byrne cant deny Oisin McWilliams

AD minors 16


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.