Ballycastle win Regional Feile title


Ballcastle celebrate winning their Regional Feile title at Saturday’s Feile in Trim, Co Meath


Regional Féile

Ballycastle Under 14’s made up for their Antrim Féile heartbreak when they stormed through the Regional Féile, hosted by Trim GAC in County Navan, as convincing champions.

Having played a total of 5 games over 2 ½ hours of hard fought camogie in the blistering 26C heat, the girls amassed a total of 29.27 whilst only conceding 4.5 throughout the tournament.

Player of the Tournament, Riana Mc Bride accounted for 15.22 of the scores and was superbly supplied by her team mates including the on form Fionnuala Kelly and the industrious midfield duo Katie Mc Closkey.

The girls fended off opposition from Aghaderg, Navan O’Mahoney’s and Birr from Offaly in the group stages and progress as group winners. A tough semi-final against Laois Harps saw the girls turn around a 5 point half time deficit, as the Harp’s girls netted 3 times to leave them ahead 3.2 to 1.3. However with Riana Mc Bride moving to half backs to shore up the defence and Faye McIntosh moving into attack, Orla Mc Ilroy and Fionnuala Kelly found the net with Amy Pollock adding 2 much needed goals to keep the Laois girls chasing the game which finished up 6.6 to 3.4.

Ballymacnab were the opponents in the final and the Ballycastle camogs found a new level with full back Erin Kyle excelling under the high ball being pumped into a strong full forward line. Christina Hamilton and Charley McQuillan swept up dangerous ball from the relentless efforts of the Ballymacnab and alongside Nuala Mc Caughan and the excellent goal keeper Aoibheann Donnelly who had to clear her lines on several occasions, kept the Ballymacnab girls to a single score in the final finishing with 6.4 to 0.1.

Ballycastle captain Riana McBride received the Shield named in honour of the great Mairín McAleenan, from the former All Star herself, and she commended the girls on the excellent skill levels work rate and team play displayed on the day. The trophy makes its way back to North Antrim for a second season, following on from Brigini Óga’s success in 2016.


Ballycastle vs Aghaderg 6.8 – 0.0

Scorers :R McBride 4.5, A. Pollock 1.0, E Mc Fetridge 1.1, F Kelly 0.1, K McCloskey 0.1

Ballycastle vs Navan O’Mahoney’s

Scorers : R McBride 4.7, KL Hunter 1.1, L McBride 1.0, K McCloskey 1.0, N Devlin 0.1

Ballycastle vs Birr Offally

Scorers : R McBride 1.3, F Kelly 1.0, K McCloskey 0.1

Ballycastle vs Harps Laois

Scorers :R Mc Bride 2.4, E McIntosh 0.1, F Kelly 1.1, A Pollock 2.0, O McIlroy 1.0

Ballycastle vs Ballymacnab

Scorers : R McBride 4.3, E McFetridge 0.1, F Kelly 1.0, B Connor 1.0


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.