Johnnies firing on all cylinders as they demolish Tir na nÓg


St John’s Michael Bradley in action against Randalstown’s Conor Fitzgerald

by John McIlwaine

All County Hurling League Division 2

Tir na nÓg 0-8 St John’s 4-28

St John’s kept the hopes of winning Division 2 of the All County Hurling League very much alive as they romped to victory over Tir na nÓg in Wednesday game at Whitlehill. In recent weeks the Randalstown men put together a series of fine results with wins against Armoy, St Gall’s and Glenariffe but they had no answer to a rampant Johnnies side who put on a real exhibition of hurling to win by a massive 32 points.

The Belfast men were 0-6 to 0-2 in front after nine minutes when Conor Johnston struck their first goal. With Michael Bradley in superb form on the ‘40’ they hit six points in a row with Bradley hitting two, Ciaran Johnston, Ciaran Johnston, Michael Dudley Peter McCallin the others. Kevin Sheerin and Colm Duffin replied with points for the home side before Conor Johnston flicked a loose ball to the net for his second goal and with Peter McCallin adding a point they went in at the break 2-14 to 0-4 to the good.


Michael Dudley fires in St John’s third goal early in the second half

The second half continued in a similar vein, in fact St John’s scored exactly the same as in the first half (2-4) though the goals came a bit earlier this time. Mick Bradley, for whom fatherhood appears to have done wonders, hit two early points before Michael Dudley and Donal Carson hit two goals inside a minute. Two more from Bradley and one from CJ McKenna stretched the lead even further before Tir na nÓg got there first score of the half through Emmet Martin. Needless to say the trend continued as Bradley, Dudley, the Johnston brothers all hit the target to steer their team to a 32 point win


Ruairi Graham, Kevin Kerr, Ciaran Logan, Brendan Kerr, Conor Fitzgerald, Colm Duffin, Caoimhin Duffin, Daniel Martin, Emmet Martin, Ciaran McKeown, Pearse Sheerin, Declan Mallon, Kevin Sheerin, Kevin McCann

Subs – Eamon Heffron for Ciaran Logan, Niall Shannon for Declan Mallon


Simon Doherty, Eamon McMahon, Ryan McNulty, Conor Carson, Gerard Cunnigham. Colm McFall, Simon McCrory, Shea Shannon, Conor Johnston, Michael Bradley, Peter McCallin, Donal Carson, Ciaran Johnston, Michael Dudley.

Subs – Jude McCurdy for Donal Carson; Declan Creggan for Gerard Cunningham, Jack Bohill for Conor Carson.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.