Shamrocks end Ruairi Ogs unbeaten run

CRLL4100All County Minor Hurling League – Division 1

Loughgiel 2-9 Cushendall 1-10

A powerful second half performance by Loughgiel saw them bring Cushendall’s unbeaten run to an end in tonight’s All County Minor Hurling League Division 1 at Fr Healy Park Loughgiel. In a game played in dreadful weather conditions everything appeared to be going to plan when the visitors took a 1-6 to 1-1 lead with half time fast approaching (the goal coming from Niall Allen). However the Shamrocks were thrown a lifeline just before the break when corner back Odhran Faleona came up to fire a penalty past Ruairi Sharpe in the Cushendall goal

Seconds into the second half Loughgiel hit the front when right half forward Caolan McIlhatton crashed and angled shot to the Ruairi Og net. Suddenly things were turned around and Loughgiel looked the stronger side. Cushendall came back to level matters on thirty five minutes when full forward Ronan McCambridge pointed from play but two minutes later the home team were back in front when McIlhatton split the posts at the other end. Scott Walsh levelled matters once again when he sent over a Cushendall free from fifty metres but Loughgiel found an answer again when centre back Odhran McMullan sent over a 65, no mean feat considering the awful conditions.

Callum McKendry pulled Loughgiel two clear midway through the second half and two minutes later full forward Paul Boyle stretched the lead to three with another fine score from play. Scott Walsh kept his team in contention with another pointed free but the gap was out to three again on fifty six minutes when Callum McKendry pointed another Loughgiel free. Niall McCormick replied for Cushendall a minute later to leave just two between the sides, but that was as close as they would get as Loughgiel held on for victory.



Kevin McAuley, Brian McNaughton, Corey Blair, Odhran Faleona, Cathal hargan, Odhran McMullan, Seamus McAuley, Sean McFadden, Odhran McCurdy, Caolan McIlhatton, Padraig Laverty, Callum McKendry, Conor Deery, Paul Boyle, Michael McGarry.

Subs – Eoin Dobbin and Colm McKendry.


Ruairi Sharpe, Ruairi McCollum, Shane Magill, Eoghan McAllister, Ronan McAteer, Fred McCurry, Pearse McKeegan, Scott Walsh, Iadan Ritson, Niall Allen, Aidan McKenna, Niall McCormcik, Donagh McAlister, Ronan McCambridge, John McAlister.

Referee – Michael Hardy (Rasharkin)


Despite their defeat Cushendall still remain joint leaders with Rossa on 16 points, though the Shaw’s Road side do have a game in hand. Dunloy, who beat Slaughtneil tonight, are two points behind Rossa with the same number of games played still have a game in hand while tonight’s win lifts Loughgiel into fourth place on 12 points. Ballycastle, who beat Kevin Lynch’s tonight are in fifth place on 9 points.

Minor League table – Division 1

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.