Dunloy’s 4-in-a-row dream still on

Antrim Minor Hurling Championship – semi-final

Dunloy Cuchullains 2-15 Ruairi Og Cushendall 0-7

Dunloy’s bid for a fourth minor hurling title in a row is still very much on the cards after the Cuchullains emphatic win over Cushendall in Saturday’s semi-final in Armoy. Boosted by two early goals the Dunloy boys raced to a 2-5 to 0-4 lead at the break and on the resumption they strengthen their grip on the game with a series of excellent points to run out winners by a fourteen point margin.

An Eoghan McGrath point in the second minute put Dunloy ahead and when corner forward Rory Mullan grabbed his team’s first goal a minute later they were in control. Cushendall began to settle and points from a Fiontan McQuillan free, plus one from play by John McAlister closed the gap to just two, and the gap remained at two after Seán Elliott and Fiontan McQuillan exchanged points. However three points without reply from Seán Elliott opened the gap to five and when full forward Eoghan McGrath got in for his team’s second goal in the 22nd minute the gap was out to eight, though a point from play by Cushendall midfielder Niall McCormick brought it back to seven by half time.

15When Cushendall opened the second half with a point from full forward Ronan McAteer there was renewed hope for the Ruairis but Dunloy dashed those hopes as the hit the next four points through Anton McGrath, Seán Elliott, Ryan McFarline and Padraig McGilligan to stretch the lead to ten. Niall McCormick pulled one back for the ‘Dall on 43 minutes but it was to be their last score as a dominant Dunloy took total control and six unanswered points, four of them from star of the show Seán Elliott, set up a mouth-watering final against old rivals Loughgiel.


Paul Doherty, Ciaran McQuillan, Aaron Crawford, Eoin McMullan, Callum Scullion, Ryan McGarry, Oisin McErleane, Anton McGrath, Padraig McGilligan, Ryan McFarline, Antony Smyth, Rory Mullan, Eoghan McGrath, Seán Elliott.


Colum McKeegan, Conal McGlynn, TP McGlynn, Ruairi McCollum, Pierce McKeegan, Thomas Scally, Seanan Black, Aidan Ritson, Niall McCormick, Paddy Gillan, John McAlister, Conleith McKinley, Donal Kearney, Ronan McAteer, Fiontan McQuillan

Referee – Kavin Park (St Enda’s)

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Pics by Sean Paul McKillop

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.