Creggan wrap up league honours

O’Neill’s All County Football Leauge Division 1

Creggan 3-12 Portglenone 1-11

Creggan collected the Division 1 League trophy today after their win over Casements Portglenone in their final league game of the season. Still obviously disappointed after their defeat to Cargin in last week’s senior championship final the Kickhams dusted themselves down and knuckled down to the task in hand, and after dominating the first half they led by 1-8 to 1-1 at the break, the Creggan goal coming from Paddy Coey, while Niall McKeever got the Casement’s major.

x1County chairman Collie Donnelly presents the Eddie Fitzsimons Memorial Cup to Creggan captain Conor McCann

After the change of ends the visitors upped their scoring rate with a series of well taken points but Creggan always had the upper hand and further goals from Kevin Small and Fintan Burke they ran out winners by 3-12 to 1-11 to seal the club’s first league title since 1961.

After the game county chairman Collie Donnelly presented the magnificent Eddie Fitzsimons Memorial Cup to Creggan captain Conor McCann. The trophy caps off a very good season for the Kickhams after having already secured the Senior Reserve Cup and the O’Cahan Cup.

EA7I0805Before the game both teams stood for a minute’s silence in memory of recently deceased John Mackle, the man who sold the ground to the club for their new pitch and clubrooms.

Creggan – Oisin Kerr, Aidan Maguire, Richard Johnston, Conor McCann, Sam Maguire, Thomas McCann, Ruairi McCann, Conor McCann, Kevin Rice, Odhran McLarnon, Kevin Small, Fintan Burke, Liam Quinn, Conor Small, Matthew Rodgers.IMG_5996Cillian McIntyre with the Eddie Fitzsimons Cup

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Pics by Brona McIntyre and Colm McLarnon

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.