CPC seal place in Ulster final

1Ulster Colleges Camogie – Senior semi-final

Cross & Passion Ballycastle 4-26 St Mary’s Magherafelt 2-3

CPC booked their place in January’s Ulster final with a comprehensive win over St Mary’s Magherafelt in Tuesday morning’s semi-final at Pairc MacUilin Ballycastle. Leading by 1-11 to 1-2 at half time the Ballycastle school were always in control and an Aoife Toner goal nine seconds into the second half meant there was no way back for St Mary’s.

Maybe it was the 11am throw-in that put the players off but the opening minutes were very pedestrian with neither side able to raise a gallop but once Roisin McCormick opened the scoring with a fine individual score things began to happen. Aine Magill added a second before Rhiana McBride got through for the first goal of the game, cutting in from the right after being put clear by an Anna Connolly pass.

2Rhianna McBride scores CPC’s opening goal

The CPC blitz continued as Roisin McCormick hit four more points and Anna Connolly one to stretch their lead to 1-7 to 0-0 before Lauren Crozier opened the St Mary’s account with a well taken point from forty meters. Roisin McCormick came back with a point for CPC but St Mary’s were enjoying their best spell of the first half and a goal by Anna O’Kane in the 21st minute, and a further point by Rachael Downey gave them hope, though CPC came back with two points before the break to lead by 1-11 to 1-2.

Aoife Toner’s goal right at the start of the second half turned out to be a signal of intent for CPC and they went on to dominate the remainder of the game. Two excellent Katie Laverty points and one from a McCormick free were added to by a McCormick goal in the 38th minute. Nine more unanswered points followed, three from Anna Connolly, two from Roisin McCormick and one each from Katie Laverty, Maeve Kelly, Aoife Toner and substitute Carla McGarry, who really made an impression when in introduced. Roisin McCormick grabbed her team’s fourth goal and though Catriona Toner came back with a goal and a point for St Mary’s there was still time for further points from Carla McGarry (2), Rhiana McBride and Anna Connolly before the final whistle.

13Roisin McCormick wins possesion for CPC


Shauna McKillop, Aoife McClafferty, Megan McGarry, Caitlin Heggary, Annie Lynn, Maebh O’Neill, Aoife O’Mullan, Annie Laverty, Maeve Kelly, Aine Magill, Roisin McCormick, Anna Connolly, Rhianna McBride, Ciara Laverty, Aoife Toner. SUBS- Carla McGarry, Shannon Richmond, Enya O’Kane.


Eimear Cassidy, Ciara McCoy, Claire Cassidey, Emily Culline, Eimear McAleenan, Orla McEvoy, Rachel Downey, Eimear McKee, Catriona Toner, Lauren Crozier, Anna O’Kane, Cara McGoldrick, Tanya O’Neill, Caoimhe Rose Johnston, Sophie Diamond.

Referee – John  McHenry

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.