Antrim Gaels honoured at the Gaelic Life All Star Gala

The Eighth annual Gaelic Life Club All-Stars event took place on Friday night in the Hillgrove Hotel in Monaghan and a massive haul of awards going to Antrim players.

The prestigious event celebrates the very best athletes from the GAA. RTE’s Darragh Maloney was MC on the night and he entertained the crowd of almost 500 people who turned up to applaud the very best players from the 2018 season.

The biggest award of the night went to Neil McManus of Ruairi Og Cushendall, who was named hurler of the year.

St Gall’s hurling manager Mickey Culbert was named hurling manager of the year after his team won the Ulster Intermediate Championship.

He edged out Cushendall manager Eamon Gillan in this category.

Cushendun’s Conor McHugh was up for the Young Hurler award, but missed out to Ballycran’s Phelim Savage.

St Enda’s Joe Maskey was in the running for young footballer of the year, but that award went to Odhran McFadden Ferry of Ulster Senior champions Gaoth Dobhair.

Likewise, Frank Fitzsimons nominated for football manager of the year for his exploits with Naomh Eanna, but the award went to Gaoth Dobhair manager Mervyn O’Donnell.

Three Naomh Eanna men received their football team of the year awards: Joe Maskey, Peter Healy and Eoin Nagle while three Loughgiel players were on the Camogie team of the year: Maria Lynn, Amy Boyle and Roisin McCormick

Six Cushendall players were named on hurling team of the year: Eoin Gillan, Paddy Burke, Sean Delargy, Arron Graffin, Neil McManus and Donal McNaughton while there were two from St Gall’s Intermediate championship winning side, CJ McGourty and Joe McDaniel.

There will be a 24-page pull out of reaction and pictures from this brillaint event in Thursday’s Gaelic Life.

Many thanks to Ronan Scott of Gaelic Life for his assistance and support*

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.