McKillop the star as Loughgiel win Feile A title

Antrim Feile A Camogie finals

Loughgiel won the Feile A Camogie title at Ballycastle on Sunday when they beat Cushendall in the final by 4-2 to 1-2. The Shamrocks had earlier beaten St Paul’s in the semi-final by 5-4 to 0-0, with star of the show Anna McKillop scoring four of her team’s goals and Eimear McKinley getting the other major score. McKillop scored 2-2 in the opening half of the semi-final, with one of her points coming from a free to send her team in 2-2 to 0-0 at the break. In the second half Eimear McKinley and Anna McKillen added points and Erin McGrath got her team’s third goal before Anna McKillop finished off a great personal display with two more goals.

Beaten semi-finalists St Paul’s. Pic by Micky Morgan.

Cushendall won their way through to the final with a hard fought 1-3 to 1-0 win over Dunloy in the other semi-final, (the two games played at the same time on different pitches)

Runners up Cushendall Ruairi Og . Pic by Micky Morgan.
Beaten semi-finalists Dunloy. Pic by Micky Morgan.

Loughgiel 4-2 Cushendall 1-2

In the final McKillop set her team on the road to victory with an early goal. Cushendall came back with two points but and Eimear McKinley goal and a second one from McKillop gave the Shamrocks a 3-0 to 0-2 half time lead, the Cushendall points coming from Naoimh McNeill and Cora O’Boyle.

In the second half Cushendall hit back with a goal from McNeill but McKillop finished off a fine day’s work with her team’s fourth goal and added two points for good measure.

Loughgiel full forward Anna McKillop who was the tournament’s top scorer.

The Loughgiel girls can now look forward to a trip to Cork later in the year while Cushendall will play in the Ulster Feile on the same weekend.   

LOUGHGIEL: Eimear McGivern, Erin Connolly, Erin Donnelly, Aoife McMullan, Anya Connolly, Zoe Cassley, Clodah McNulty, Alana McKendry, Anna McKillen, Caitlin Connolly, Ciara Connolly, Eimear McKinley, Erin McGrath, Anna McKillop, Shanna Deery.

SUBS – Naimh Fitzgerald, Ellie Dickson, Neala Clarke, Orla Henry, Ciara Dillon, Marie Laverty, Aiobhean Gillan, Eva McGarry, Molly O’Hagan, Cealla Dobbin, Eva McKee   

Abi McNeill Niamh McNeill Eva McNeill Kady McNeill Ellie Jo Butler Annie Kearney Marie Claire McAlister Amy McAlister Isabella Black Caoimhe Morgan Cliodhna O’Hara Orlaith McCurry Orlaith McAlister Meadhbh Graham Orla Kane Eimear McMullan Louise Mulholland Keera Burleigh Emily McNaughton Erin Delargy Saoirse Campbell Maeve McAlister Cara O’Boyle Laura Black

Loughgiel captain Anna McKillop receives the Feile trophy

Pics by Micky Morgan

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.