Rossa win with ease

Antrim Football League Division Two

O’Donovan Rossa 2-12 St Patrick’s, Lisburn 0-7

Division 2 table toppers Rossa made it three wins out of three when they beat St Pat’s Lisburn in Sunday’s All County Football League game at Rossa. The groundwork for this victory was laid in the opening half as goals from Thomas Morgan and Stephen Beatty saw the home side put daylight between themselves and the Lisburn men as they built and eleven point interval lead that was not going to be threatened.

Two pointed free by Colm Fleming and one from play by Thomas Morgan gave Rossa an early cushion but the visitors pulled one back on seven minutes when Josh McMullan sent over at the other end. Back came Rossa with a Stephen Beatty point to restore their three point cushion, and the lead was soon doubled when Morgan got in for Rossa’s opening goal.  The home side were now in full flow and after Eoghan McMenamin got his name on the score-sheet Mogran added two top class points from play to ease Rossa nine clear by the 20th minute. Worse was to come for St Patrick’s as just two minutes later Rossa midfielder Stephen Beatty fired a left footed shot to the Lisburn net as the gap was now out to twelve. Francis McMeel ended his team’s 17 minute scoreless spell with a point from a free, and though Michael McGreevy hit back with a Rossa point McMeel found the target again to end the opening half eleven in arrears.

Lisburn were first to score in the second half when McMeel sent over another point and though Rossa answered it a minute later through Colm Fleming the visitors were starting to enjoy a bit more possession. Eoin Fay and Niall Ward scored points but Rossa were always able to hold their opponents at arms-length and without ever reproducing their first half form still were able to ease to victory. 

ROSSA: M Byrne; M McGreevy (0-1), C Orchin, N Crossan; P McGreevy, S Finch, J Cooley; S Beatty (1-1), E McMenamin (0-1); SP Donnelly, T Morgan (1-3), J Connolly; D McEnhill (0-2 frees), C Fleming (0-4, 3 frees), C McDonald. Subs: D Grego for T Morgan (28), O McVicker for J Connolly (43), C McGettigan for M McGreevy (49), T McGrath for SP Donnelly (58), D McVeigh for J Cooley (58), C Walsh for E McMenamin (60).

LISBURN: P O’Neill; Jack McMullan, T Burns, M Chernek; B McMullan (0-1), T O Meallaigh, S McEvoy; T Fay, A McDonald (0-1); N Ward (0-1), Josh McMullan (0-1), F McMeel (0-2, 1 free); E Fay (0-1), D Burns, D Cartland. Subs: M Hughes for D Cartland (HT), P Casey for E Fay (55).

REFEREE: Colm McDonald (St Gall’s)

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.