Bannsiders record useful win at Pairc na nGael

ACFL Division 1

St. Mary’s Aghagallon 3-5  Casement’s Portglenone 1-13

Photographs: Bert Trowlen

Despite another battling performance St. Mary’s Aghagallon came up just short when they entertained Casement’s Portglenone at Pairc Na nGael on Sunday. The Bannsider’s came mighty close on day one before losing by a couple of points to league holders, Kickham’s Creggan before recording their first win against newly promoted Gort na Mona on Wednesday night.

Aghagallon lost by the minimum at Musgrave Park to another promoted side, St. Brigid’s on the opening day and again to Creggan on Wednesday night by five but would have been hoping to take something from the visit of Portglenone.

The visitors have shown some good form this season however and with Paddy Kelly and Ronan Kelly in fine scoring form they led by 0-10 to 2-1 at half time with Gareth Magee and Ruairi McCann breeching the visitors defence to claim first half goals.

After the break Aghagallon battled hard to retrieve something from this game with Pat Brannigan driving them forward from half-back and Jack Lenehan and Eunan Walsh enjoying a bit more success around mid-field.

Walsh did get in for a third Aghagallon goal but this was cancelled out by one from Caolan Tierney at the other end and with Gerard McAleese, Conall Delargy and Ciaran Mckenna looking dangerous going forward it was Casement’s who came away with a two point victory to move onto four points from three starts.

Despite being pointless after three games Aghagallon have shown enough to suggest that a first win is not far away and on the day Luke Mulholland, Adam Mulholland, Pat Brannigan, Jack Lenehan, Ruairi McCann and Gareth Magee were all in fine form.

 Aghagallon: Luke Mulholland, Micky McStravick, Aidan Mulholland,  Paul Mulholland, Pat Brannigan, Mark McKenna,  Jamie Lamont,  Jack Lenehan,  Eunan Walsh, Ciaran Brady,  Adam Loughran, Marc McAfee,  Ruairi Loughran, Ruairi McCann, Gareth Magee

Scorers: Gareth 1-4, Ruairi McCann 1-0, Eunan Walsh 1-0, Adam Loughran 0-1

Portglenone: Ryan O’Neill, Ryan Convery, Johnny Convery, Ronan Delargy, Michael Kelly, Niall Delargy, Caolan Tierney, Fergal O’Kane, Niall Mckeever, Conall Delargy, Ciaran McKenna, Dermot McAleese, Gerard McAleese, Ronan Kelly, Paddy Kelly

Scorers: Caolan Tierney 1-01, paddy Kelly 0-5, Ronan Kelly – 0-4, Conall Delargy – 0-1, Gerard McAleese 0-1, Ciaran McKenna 0-1

Referee: Gerard Dougan (Creggan)

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.