Strong finishing Moneyglass take both points

ACF League Division Two Reserve

St Ergnat’s Moneyglass 1-19 St Paul’s 3-11

Photographs: Elaine Kelly

Moneyglass claimed the points in what proved to be an exciting, fully contested division two reserve game when they came strong in the latter stages to earn the win over St Paul’s on Wednesday evening.

Excellent conditions in what proved a most enjoyable affair in which the skill level on display defied the ‘reserve’ tag with excellent scores aplenty to be enjoyed and it took a strong finish from the home side to secure the spoils.

With just a single win from their programme to date, St Paul’s started the game billed as outsiders but the Shaw’s Road side started in sprightly fashion.

Conor Mc Cartan shot them in front with a 2nd minute point with corner forward Declan Chapman adding another, a couple of minutes later.

The end to end activity and score at one end prompting reply in kind at the other continued for a term but with the tally at 0-03 apiece it was to be the visitors who were to buck the trend when Declan Chapman found the net.

The live wire corner man who posed a huge threat throughout was sent away by a slick delivery from the evergreen Stephen Mulvenna to fire home in the 12th minute.

Moneyglass were not to linger long in arrears however and a trio of unanswered white flags raised in turn by Ryan Boyd, Liam Brady, and Felimi Duffin had them on terms at 0-06 to 1-03.

The home side moved ahead in the 20th minute as Liam Brady was halted illegally inside the square before he dusted himself off to blast the awarded spot kick up and over the bar.

St. Ergnat’s  raised their efforts in the last minutes of the opening half and a Gareth Quinn goal, finished well after being created by a strong Seanachan Duffin approach saw them earn a 1-09 to 1-06 half time advantage.

Moneyglass stared the second half aided by the breeze and were quickly into their stride and Liam Brady pointed from a free kick after Feilimi Devlin was fouled and Seanachan Duffin added another superbly crafted effort.

The home side had moved into a five point lead and mid fielder Seanachan Duffin weighed in with another couple of eye catching deliveries which yielded points.

The visitors responded and when the ever dangerous Declan Chapman completed his hat trick the city men were on terms.

The corner forward was out in front to leave his marker behind to finish to the corner of the net in the 36th minute and when he received from Liam Magee to add another  the scores were tied at 1-13 to 3-07 at the end of the third quarter.

The home side had their keeper to thank as the last quarter commenced as Ryan Doyle did well to deny Declan Chapman who was in search of his fourth major.

Another Liam Brady point brought quick reply as Conor McCartan raised white at the other end and although a fine Jervis Weir point ensured the home side were in front again back to back points from Declan Chapman saw the lead change hands again.

St Paul’s were at 3-10 to 1-15 as the game clock ticked onwards towards completion.

A fine Ryan Boyd point ensured parity on the scoreboard again but the city men responded and a superbly struck Conor McCartan free kick from an acute angle ensured a slender lead and an away win looked possible.

The home side were in a bit of trouble but the introduction of Donal Laverty added late impetus to the home side’s cause.

The replacement was involved when Liam Brady delivered a 58th minute ‘45’ between the posts and took matter in his own hands a couple of minutes later as a pin point Ryan Boyd delivery opened the way to add a point.

St Paul’s tried to respond as the clock moved into time added but they were foiled by Luke O’ Donnell and his clearance to Donal Laverty saw the latter send Liam Brady away to secure a 63rd minute point and see the home side breast the winning line points secured, at 1-19 to 3-11.

Referee K Parkes (St Enda’s)

Moneyglass: Ryan Doyle, Luke O’ Donnell, Peter Mc Cormick, Ronan Neeson, Michael Mc Laughlin, Declan Neeson, Jervis Weir (0-01), Seanachan Duffin (0-03), Gary Murray, Liam Brady (0-07), Kevin Marron (0-03), Felimi Duffin (0-01), Stephen Magill, Gareth Quinn (1-01), Ryan Boyd (0-02)


Enda Duffin (0-01) for S Magill

Donal Laverty (0-01) for K Marron (inj)

St Paul’s: Conor Murphy, James Mc Greevey, Laurence Higgins, Kevin Gallagher, Conor Hughes, Damien Mc gee, Niall Mc Stravick (0-01), Stephen Mulvenna, Declan Martin, Michael Connolly (0-01), Liam Magee, Declan Chapman (3-04), Liam Mc Kenna, Michael Mervyn


Callum Rea for K Gallagher

Gary Mc Gourty for L Higgins

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.