Shamrocks hit their stride in second half

All County Hurling League Division 1

St Gall’s 0-11 Loughgiel 4-17

A strong second half performance gave Loughgiel a convincing win over St Gall’s in Wednesday evening’s Division 1 game at Milltown Row.  On a dark and wet evening in the Bog Meadows the home side held their own with the visitors and trailed by just a point at the break but after the change of ends the Shamrocks hit their stride and fired in four goals to record a big win.

The Shamrocks started strongly with two Odhran McMullan points and one from Shan McGrath but St Gall’s hit back with three of their own through Karl Stewart, Mark Napier and Jackson McGreevey to level matters by the ninth minute. It was score for score for a period but Loughgiel began to get on top and a series of pointed frees by James McNaughton had them five ahead by the 21st minute. St Gall’s battled back and four on the trot from Jackson McGreevey frees and a brilliant effort from out on the sideline from Mark Napier brought them back to within a point, though a late McNaughton point gave the visitors a 0-10 to 0-8 lead at the interval.

St Gall’s Gregory McGreevy in action against Loughgiel’s Odhran McFaddena and Declan McCloskey.

Points by McNaughton and Barney McAuley early in the second  half stretched the Shamrocks lead to four but a well worked score by the home side, which was finished by Anto Healey left just three between the sides. However Loughgiel were beginning to hit their stride and points from Eddie McCloskey and James McNaughton, and an excellently taken goal form a narrow angle by Dan McCloskey put the men in red in control. Mark Napier pulled a point back for St Gall’s but three  goals from Shan McGrath in a ten minute spell ended the contest. St Gall’s had a late goal chance themselves when they were awarded a penalty but Karl Stewart’s shot was well saved by Chrissy O’Connell in the Loughgiel goals.

ST GALL – Kurtis McGreevey, Stephen Morrison, Joe McDaniel, Liam McCluskey, Aodhan Gallagher,  Conor McGourty, Ciaran McCaffrey, Jack Hopkins, Anto Healey, Jackson McGreevey, Karl  Stewart, Tomas O’Ciaran, Mark Napier, Anton McCaffrey, Gregory McGreevy

LOUGHGIEL: Chrissy O’Connell, Declan McCloskey, Tony McCloskey, Odhran McFadden, Seamus Dobbin, Cathal McMullan, Tiernan Coyle, Eddie McCloskey, Mark McFadden, Barney McAuley, James McNaughton, Odhran McMullan, Shan McGrath, Dan McCloskey, Shay Casey. SUBS – Liam Watson for McMullan; Paul Boyle for McAuely.

Referee – Paul Hughes

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.