Tower tops in Thompson Cup

Danske Bank Thompson Cup – Ulster Schools Year 8 Hurling

St Killian’s 2-4 Cross & Passion College 1-0

St Killian’s won the Thompson Cup at Slemish Park Ballymena on Saturday when they beat Cross & Passion in the final. Six teams took part and after a series of round-robin games St Killian’s CPC, St Mary’s CBGS and Our Lady & St Patrick’s Knock qualified for the semi-finals. The Garron Tower boys got the better of St Mary’s in their semi-final while CPC came out on top against Knock to set up a showdown with their north coast rivals.

In a game of ten minutes each way CPC were first to strike when Conor Donnelly got in behind the Tower defence in the second minute and kicked the ball to the net. However that was to be their only score of the half and with the wind at their backs you felt at half time that it might not be enough.

Joe Cassidy presents the Thompson Cup to St Killian’s captains Alex McCambridge and Ryan McAuley after their team’s win over CPC in the final.

In the opening minute of the second half an goal attempt by St Killian’s was thwarted by Anthony Mullan in the CPC goals who bravely blocked the ball with his feet but Callagh Mooney picked up the ball and sent it over the bar to open the Garron Tower scoring. Callum McIlwaine added a point two minutes later to cut the gap to a single point before Dairi Higgins got in for a goal on six minutes. CPC battled hard to get out of defence but the St Killian’s tails were up now and Cahir McNaughton pointed to put them three clear before Thomas McLaughlin delivered the killer blow by firing in his team’s second goal. There was no way back for CPC now and Callagh Mooney put the seal on the victory with an injury time point to spark scenes of celebration among the Garron Tower followers.

ST KILLIAN’S: Joseph McKay, Oran McClintock, Oran McCambridge, James Kearney, Aodhan Campbell, John Scullion, Colla Ward, Charlie McAuley, Callum McIlwaine, Fintan McKillop, Daniel Douthart, Callagh Mooney, Thomas McLaughlin, Dairi Higgins, Cahir McNaughton.

Subs – Alex McCambridge, Ryan McAuley, Eoghan Robbin, Padhraic O’Boyle, Michael Fury, Gerard Burns, Oisin McKeown, Padraig McIlhatton, Liam McGhee

Cross & Passion College

CPC: Anthony Mullan, Conor Boylan, Cian Budant, Thomas McNulty, Niall McClean, Liam Glackin, Ardan Kelly, Roan McGarry, Dara Donnelly, Kalechi Agola, Calum Kane, Ronan Fitzgerald, Dan O’Mullan, Conor Donnelly, Conal Lynn

Subs – Con McCormick, James McNeill, Dara McGivern, Aidan Hughes, Cahir McMullan.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.