Glenariffe keep good run going with win over Tir na nOg

ACHL Division 2B

Glenariffe Oisin 1-16 Tir na nOg 1-8

Oisin, Glenariffe kept their recent good run going when they proved too good for visitors Tir na nOg in an at times niggly contest in Waterfoot tonight. The opening exchanges were fairly even but It was the Whitehill side who made the better start with Ciaran Logan pointing them ahead after 20 seconds.

A goal from the same player in the 21st minute briefly put the visitors two in front but Oisins struck with a goal of their own from Alex O’Boyle just on half time to take a four point lead into the dressing room.  Glenariffe extended their lead on the restart with a point from the excellent Alex O’Boyle and they went on to dominate the third quarter and led by ten going into the closing stages.

The visitors were first off the mark with Logan on target after 20 seconds and Kevin Sheerin pointed a third minute free to put them two ahead. The home side took a time to find their range, shooting a number of wides before Alex O’Boyle got them off the mark and two further scores from O’Boyle in reply to another from Ciaran Logan saw the sides level with 17 minutes on the clock.

Conor Patterson gave Glenariffe the lead as Alex O’Boyle began to open up the visitors defence with his strong running and he added another point after being fouled himself but Tir na nOg responded with a good goal from the dangerous Ciaran Logan to hit the front again with nine minutes remaining to the break.

Things were beginning to heat up as the free count mounted with referee Francis Traynor doing his best to keep a lid on it as he issued a couple of yellow cards but it was the home side who finished the half strongly with Paddy Burns getting on the end of a long clearance from Randal McDonnell to fire over in the 28th minute.

Caolan O’Connor, who had a great game at mid-field, extended the Oisins lead and Alex O’Boyle put them in a strong position when he fired to the net in the 30th minute. Tir na nOg attempted to respond but had a late score ruled out for a square ball decision and at half time the home side led by four.

On the restart the mercurial O’Boyle extended that lead to five and then six with Kevin Sheerin replying from a free in the third minute following a foul on the hard working Ciaran Logan. The home side were gaining in control as the half progressed and it took a smart save from Kevin Kerr to deny the Oisins as they began to turn the screw.

Glenariffe continued to press however as Alex O’Boyle added a couple more points from frees before Tir na nOg substitute, Eamon Og McAllister replied with a good point from play. Kevin Sheerin added another in the 38th minute to briefly lift the visitors hopes but Glenariffe were in no mood to let their lead slip further.

And it was that man O’Boyle who led the way with points in the 40th and 41st minutes, the second a superb effort from near the side line and Conor McAllister followed with two more as the Oisins began to turn the screw.

The Tir na nOg defence was coming under increasing pressure with Ryan O’Neill, Brendan Kerr and Ciaran O’Neill doing everything in their power to stem the tide but Oisins struck with another point from Aaron Cosgrove in the 49th minute to move 10 in front and it was as good as over.

It was to be the home sides last score and Tir na nOg finally got some reward for their efforts as they finished strongly with the game’s final two points and it was fitting that they came from their best player on the night, Ciaran Logan but it only served to put a better look on the scoreline.

This win edges Glenariffe ahead of Cloney Gaels on score difference in division 2Bbut the Waterfoot side have a game in hand and appear to be hitting a rich vein of form going into the championship. Tir na nOg have a number of players to come back into the side and will be hoping to get them all on board come championship time.

Oisin: Sean McToal, Daniel Haughey, Randal McDonnell, Michael Haughey, Niall Murray, Michael Gettens, Shane O’Connor, Caolan O’Connor, Aaron Cosgrove, Conor Patterson, Conor McAllister, Tom Quinn, Paddy Burns, Paul McDonnell, Alex O’Boyle. Subs: Seamus McDonnell for Paddy Burns, Alex McDonnell for Paul McDonnell, Oliver McLarnon for Tom Quinn

Tir na nOg: Kevin Kerr, Brendan Kerr, Ryan O’Neill, Neil Shannon, Conor Fitzgerald, Ciaran O’Neill, Tony Martin, Caoimhinn Duffin, Emmet Martin, Pearse Sherrin, Kevin Sherrin, Malachy Duffin, Niall Devlin, Ciaran Logan, Michael Higgins. Subs: Eamon Og McAllister, Stephen Carey, Sean McKinnley

Referee: Francis Traynor (Loughgiel)

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.