McQuillan’s take Section 1 title on a great finals day

McQuillan’s 3rds won Section 1 of the P5&6 North Antrim Indoor Hurling tournament at the Seven Towers Leisure Centre on Sunday, the Ballycastle boys just getting the better of a very good Michael Davitt’s Swatragh side by 3 goals to 2, the goals coming from Patrick Campbell, Matthew Donnelly and Peter Laverty. Campbell and Laverty had given the ‘Town’ a 2-0 lead but just before half time the Swatragh boys pulled one back from a penalty. Laverty put Ballycastle back in front early in the second half, but Swatragh hit back almost immediately to leave just one in it again. It was tough and intense in the final minutes but McQuillan’s managed to hold out to take the title.

In a great day’s hurling Eoghan Rua Coleraine captured the Section 2 title with a 5-0 win over Naomh Padraig while Section 3 was claimed by Kickhams Creggan who beat McQuillan’s 2nds by 6 goals to nil with a terrific display.

Omagh St Enda’s hit five goals in their final win over Oisins Glenariffe in the Section 4 final while in the Section 5 decider, the first final of the day, Tir na nÓg of Randalstown beat Eoghan Ruadh Dungannon 4ths by 5 goals to 4 in a really tight game.

Afterwards Paddy Gray of North Antrim presents the trophies to the winning captains

Section 1 winners McQuillan’s 3rds

Paddy Gray presents the Section 1 Shield to McQuillan’s captain Ronan McBride
Paddy Gray presents the Section 2 trophy to Darragh Cassidy of Eoghan Rua Coleraine
Eoghan Rua Coleraine celebrate their Section 2 victory
Section 3 winners Kickhams Creggan.
Paddy Gray presents the Section 3 Trophy to Cregann captain Ronan Colgan
Omagh St Enda’s celebrate their Section 4 success
Paddy Gray presents the Section 4 trophy to Omagh St Enda’s joint captains Conor O’Reilly and Conor Keyes
Section 5 winners Tir na nÓg celebrate their victory
Paddy Gray presents the Section 5 trophy to Tir na nÓg captain Oisin Sisk

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.