Another win for Tir na nOg

ACFL Division 2

Tir na nOg 0-15 Davitt’s 1-8

Tir na nOg recorded their second win of the season when they entertained Michael Davitt’s at Whitehill on Sunday. They certainly didn’t get it all their own way against a Davitt’s side who could be a force in the division this season and will be looking forward to their first home game at their brilliant new complex.

 Indeed it took a great double save from Tir na nOg net minder, Sean Paul McAtamney after ten minutes to keep the opposition at bay and there was still nothing in it early in the second half when Davitt’s levelled the game from the penalty spot.

Aaron McNeilly gave the home side the perfect start with a point after 37 seconds and another from Toland in the sixth minute suggested that the home side were in the mood to push on but it took that double save from McAtamney to keep their noses ahead as the visitors served notice that they were not there to make up the numbers.

A pointed free from Daryl Fegan and another from play by Ciaran O’Neill late in the half had the home side leading by the minimum at the halfway stage but when Davitt’s player Daniel Largey fired home from the penalty spot to level the contest early in the second half the momentum seemed to be with the visitors.

It was at this point Tir na nOg found another gear hitting seven points without reply with Christy Sheerin driving them on from mid-field.  Sheerin pointed in the 35th and 36th minutes and points from Aaron McNeilly, Daryl Fegan, Christy Sheerin, Ciaran Duffin and Sheerin again had the Whitehill side very much in the driving seat and it looked as good as over.

The dismissal of new boy Mac Raillias following a yellow and black after 52minutes looked like providing the visitors with a way back but the home defence stood strong and late points from McNeilly, O’Kane and man of the match, Christy Sheerin ensured there would be no way back for the city side. 

Tír na nÓg

1. SP McAtamney 2. N. Cassidy 3. C. Mac Raillias 4. B. Magee 5. D. Mallon 6. C. Duffin 7. O. McAtamney 8. C. Sheerin 9. C. O’Neill 10. B. McCormick 11. A. McNeilly 12. D. Fagan 13. C. Mckeown 14. K. Sheerin 15. A. Tolan 17.K. Kerr 18. E. Murray 19. P. Cullen 20. D. O’Kane 21. C. Fitzgerald 22. E. Higgins 23. D. McCormick 24. D. Martin


A. McNeilly (0.37sec)

A. Toland (6mins)

D. Fagan Free (21mins)

C. O’Neill (29min)

C. Duffin (49mins)

A. McNeilly free (56mins)

D. O’Kane (58mins)

C. Sheerin (60mins +7) 

Subs: P. Cullen for O. McAtamney (38mins), D. O’Kane for C. McKeown (50mins), E. Murray for K. Sheerin (56mins)

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.