4Oth Anniversary Championship Celebration in Cargin revisited

On the 4th August 1914 Erin’s Own GAC, Cargin held a special celebration on to honour the team who won the Antrim SFC in 1974. Most of the team who took part in that famous win attended the function and those deceased or unable to attend were represented by family members. A packed house attended the function in the Erin’s own clubrooms and after a meal MC for the night, Dermot Shivers spoke eloquently about the players who brought about that success.

The team of 74 and their representatives at an evening in their honour in the Erin’s Own clubrooms.

Back l-r

Artie Close, Eddie Mc Keever, Donal Laverty, Damian Mc Kee (Seamus Mc Kee RIP),  Laurence Mc Cann, Eamon Laverty, HP Johnston (TJ Johnston), Ciaran Mc Guckin (Geordie McGuckin), Terence Mc Allister.

Middle l-r

Raymond Mc Guckin (Martin Mc Guckin), Colm Grant, Patrick Mc Guckin (captain), Paddy Graffin, Henry Johnston, Terence Laverty (John Laverty), Gerard Laverty.

Bottom l-r

Finnoula Murray (Gerry Murray RIP), Gerard Close, Pat Close, Eamon Close, Sean Quinn, Kyle Johnston (Richard Johnston), Francis Mc Cann, James Mc Corley, Dan Mallon (Michael Mallon RIP), Collette Devlin (Brendan Devlin RIP).

Erin’s Own stalwart, Brian Devlin addresses the crowd.

The Mc Corley brothers, James and Pat.

Ciaran Close who captained the 2006 winning team with his dad Eamon who was part of the 74 team.

JP Mc Corley and his dad James

Francis Mc Cann wows the audience as Sean Quinn looks on.

The Cargin team who won the Antrim SFC in 1974.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.