Glenravel get a late scare but Higgins goals to seal the win

Creagh Concrete Minor Football Championship

Glenravel 1-18 Portglenone 2-7

A late Calum Higgins goal finally sealed Con Magees win over Casement’s Portglenone in Saturday’s opening game in the Creagh Concret Minor Football Championship Section B at Fr Maginn Park. In fairness to the home side they were in control for most of the game and after leading 0-11 to 0-3 at half time they had stretched their advantage to 0-16 to 0-6 by the ‘water break’ midway through the second half. They were cruising to a handy win, or so it seemed, but all was to change when Portglenone’s midfield pairing of Aidan McAleese and Daniel McNicholl, who had been excellent all through the game, broke through for two goals in as many minutes to cut the deficit to just three points. Suddenly Glenravel appeared in a bit of bother but to their credit they reacted well as Rian Lennon knocked over two points before a great move involving Cathal Hynds and Ryan McQuillan was finished superbly to the net by Calum Higgins.

Glenravel had much the better of the opening half and after the sides had been level on 0-2 apiece after nine minutes they started to find their range and hit seven unanswered points through Adam Campbell (2), Callum Higgins (2) Ryan McQuillan, Daniel McQuillan and Sean Higgins to go 0-9 to 0-2 clear by the 27th minute. Sean Byrne pulled one back for the visitors with a well taken point but the Con Magees responded with points from Daniel McQuillan and Cathal Hynds to lead by eight at the break.

Portglenone looked more threatening after the change of ends and with the breeze behind them they hit three of the first four points. The home team came back with three on the bounce and appeared to be in completed control until the final minutes gave them a real scare which shook them from their complacency and set up and exciting finish.

1 – Jude Scullion, Conor Laverty, Sean Higgins, Eamon Carey, Cathal Hyndes, Shea McDonnell, Daniel McQuillan, Callum Higgins, Adam Campbell, Ryan McQuillan, Joe Martin, Shea O’Broin, Rian Lennon


Ruairi O’Hagan, Kevin O’Kane, Ruairi McGuigan, Brandon Cochran, Fintan O’Connell, Fintan Hagan, Sean Byrne, Aiden McAleese, Daniel McNicholl, Conor Marron, Ciaran McAleese, Conal McAtamney, Patrick Murray

Referee – Jack McMullan (Naomh Padraig, Lisburn)

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.