Moneyglass take the honours

Homefit Antrim Football League Division 2

Moneyglass 3-13 Tir na nOg 2-11

Pics by Elaine Kelly

Moneyglass got their league campaign off to a winning start on Sunday with a home win over South West rivals Tir na nOg at Marian Hill. Leading by 2-6 to 1-6 at half time the St Ergnat’s men maintained the upper hand during the second half and in the end were five points to the good

Two scores in the opening minute were to prove decisive as Ryan Doyle pointed inside 30 seconds and Seanchann Duffin followed up with a goal less than a minute late to give their team an early four point cushion. Darragh Fagan opened the Tir na nÓg account with a pointed free on three minutes but the home side hit back with points from Colum and Seanchann Duffin to go five clear after just seven mintues.

Randalstown got themselves back into the game with another point from a Fagan free, and when full forward Kevin Sheerin fired to the Moneyglass net they were back in the game. Patrick McCormick pointed for the home side but Fagan and Aaron McNeilly came back with points to bring their side level by the eighteenth minute. Moneyglass hit back in style as midfielder Seanchann Duffin broke through to put his team back on top and they held that lead to the break as Dermot McErlain and Ryan Doyle answered points from Fagan and McNeilly. Half time Moneyglass 2-6 Tir na nÓg 1-6

The third quarter was evenly contested with Aaron McNeilly (2) and Darly Fagan replying to points from Patrick McCormick and Colum Duffin, which closed the gap to two points, but just when they were under threat the St Ergnat’s men reacted well and Ryan Doyle fired in this team’s third goal. That lifted the home team to a new level and they hit four unanswered points to stretch the lead to eight before a late goal from Tir na nÓg substitute Aodhan Tolan cut it back to five at the final whistle.


Mark Carey, Peter McCormick, Tiernan Duffin, Eamon Kelly, Miran Neeson, Conor Boyd, Jervis Weir, Jimmy McMeel, Seanchann Duffin, Jack McCoy, Sean Kelly, Patrick McCormick, Colum Duffin, Ryan Doyle, Kevin Marron.

Subs – D McErlaine for Neeson; Paul Tohill for McMeel; D Scullion for Weir; C Prenter for Marron

Tir na Óg

M. Dempsey, C. Logan, C. McGrellis, D. Mallon, B. McCormick, C. Duffin, D. McCormick, R. O’Neill, S. Duffin, C. O’Neill, A. McNeilly D. Fagan, C. Sheerin, K. Sheerin, C. Dobbin

Subs: N. Cassidy for D. McCormick, E. Óg McAllister for C. O’Neill, A. Tolan for K. Sheerin

Referee – Gregory Walsh

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.