Winning start for Naomh Eanna ladies

By Martin Sherlock

On a historic night for Naomh Eanna ladies they travelled to the home of last season’s Intermediate champions Con Magee’s Glenravel for their first ever game in the top flight. With a squad comprising of 9 seniors and 13 underage players it was a young and determined side that took the field.
Having started with the slope and a breeze the ladies got off to a solid start with Ellie Murphy scoring our first 2 points in this grade. The Glengormley girls then had to cope with a period of pressure from Con Magee’s but with the dominant Ailbhe MacRuagain at full back and Laoise Jennings in goals they found their composure and started to impose their quick flowing game on the proceedings.
A quick fire point and our first Div 1 goal from Suibhne Gibney with a Molly McAuley point saw the ladies lead 1-4 to 0-4 at the first water break.
The next passage of play continued with home pressure but a goal from Alicia Bartlett and a points from Mairead Murray saw St Endas lead 2-6 to 2-4 at the half.
The introduction of Clare Crummey then helped the speed and accuracy of supply to the forwards and Ailbhe Kane 1-1 and Mairead Murray 0-3 saw the girls stretch the lead to 3-10 to 3-5 at the water break.
However the last quarter seemed to go on forever as the Glenravel girls pressed to win the game. A penalty and a point from a second penalty brought the game close but a trademark Rose Sherlock block in front of goals steadied the girls. Then an inspirational point from an acute angle by Ellie Murphy and a glorious pass by the same player allowed Suibhne Gibney to finish the game with a stunning goal.
In a game where every player was on top form and all 6 forwards scored the midfield duo of Jane McNulty and Orlaith Murray kept the game moving for us while the defence marshalled by Cliodhna Kane Orla McNulty and Caoimhe Finucane were superb throughout.
Naomh Éanna
L Jennings LM Maskey A MacRuagain R Sherlock
O McNulty C Kane C Finucane J McNulty O Murray M Murray 0-4 A Kane 1-1 S Gibney 2-1 E Murphy0-3 A Bartlett 1-1 M McAuley 0-1 C Crummey A Crummey I Thompson A Walsh M Curran C Bowes C McTaggart.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.