Cargin continue to impress as they record second win

Creagh Concrete Minor Football A Group 1

Erin’s Own Cargin 2-18 St Mary’s Aghagallon 0-06

Defending minor champions Erin’s Own Cargin made it two win from two starts when they dismissed the challenge of St Marys Aghagallon with the minimum of fuss in the second round of the 2020 competition at Toome on Thursday evening.

Having opened account with a win over Aldergrove in the opening round the Toome lads had home advantage for tonight’s game and although it took them a while to warm to the task, a 16th minute Paudie McLaughlin major set them on their way and they had earned an eight point advantage at the end of the opening half.

Cathal McOscar Photography

Aghagallon started positively and were good value for a 0-04 to 0-03 lead at the end of the opening quarter but the game turned in favour of the home side and a Paudie McLaughlin’s strike saw them grab the lead.  That was the turning point and they had moved into a 1-10 to 0-05 advantage at the end of the first half.

Conhuir Johnston opened account for the home side with an early point but the ever accurate Hugh Hannon raised four white flags in reply. Benen Kelly and Odhran Molloy replied for the Toome side and a close one looked in prospect at the end of the first quarter. Cargin upped the ante however with that 16th minute McLaughlin goal providing inspiration.

Cargin took control at this point and with the impressive Conhuir Johnston raising four white flags and PJ Quinn, Tom Shivers, Benen Kelly all on target the home side entered the break well satisfied with their opening period endeavours.

The Toome lads lost the services of high fielding Eunan Quinn for the second half as illness forced the mid fielder out of the game to be replaced by Conan Kennedy but in the event they never broke stride and had the issue resolved at the second water break by which period they had earned a 1-16 to 0-06 lead.

Cathal McOscar Photography

A 32nd minute PJ Quinn point got them on their way again with Paudie Mc Laughlin Benen Kelly and the irrepressible Conhuir Johnston (0-4) following suit in answer to a single reply from Aghagallon mid fielder Paudie Gowdy, Cargin had reached the calm waters of safety, 1-16 to 0-06 ahead.

Aghagallon tried to respond with mid fielder Paudie Gowdy leading by example but the home side’s defensive unit stood tall and at conclusion they were in complete control as a late Tom Shivers goal saw them cross the line 2-18 to 0-06 ahead.

Cargin: Shea Laverty, Conan Johnston, Cahir Donnelly, Diarmuid Mc Peake, Malachi Johnston, Sean og O’ Neill, Shane Gribbon, Odhran Molloy (0-01), Eunan Quinn, Charlie Mc Cann, Benen Kelly (0-03), Tom Shivers (1-02), PJ Quinn (0-02), Conhuir Johnston (0-08), Paudie Mc Laughlin (1-01)

Cathal McOscar Photography


Conan Kennedy for E Quinn

Craig Thornton for D Mc Peake

Caobhinn Kennedy for PJ Quinn

Conor Kelly for P Mc Laughlin

Ryan O’ Neill for T Shivers

Aghagallon: Ronan Devlin, Eoin Brown, Jack Hannon, Leo Mallon, Ethan Lavery, Stephen Devlin, Ciaran Maginnis, Paudie Gowdy (0-01), Pauric Maginnis, Ruari Mc Shane, Hugh Hannon (0-04), Jonny Hannon, Jack Nelson, Liam Russel, Michael Mc Stravick


Eddie Wilson for C Maginnis

Enda Mc Cartan for J Nelson

Ryan Doone for E Laverty

Shea Downey for P Gowdy

Max Thomas for R Mc Shane

Referee K Doherty (Rasharkin)

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.