Aghagallon tops in derby game

Northern Switchgear SFC Group 3

St Mary’s Aghagallon 6-12 St Joesph’s Aldergrove 1-7

St Mary’s hosted local rivals Naomh Seamas and although the Crumlin men have found the going tough so far this year, both sides went into this game knowing form means nothing in derby games, with the county’s intermediate champions hopeful of taking some points on the short journey home.

When Seamus Mc Garry raised the first white flag of the day it looked like game on, however Aghagallon replied with a goal that was an indication of things to come.Great work by Adam Loughran on the “45” line saw him lay the ball off to Ruairi Mc Cann and when he took the return pass, he carved through the Aldergrove defence with pace and power and placed the ball into the net. Ruairi Loughran pointed to finish some great link up play between Jamie Lamont and Gareth Magee and Magee got the next one from a free after Mc Cann was fouled. The momentum was all with the men in green and they used it to great effect to build up a half time lead leaving the visitors a mountainto climb. Magee turned provider when he found Mc Cann at the far post and the big full forward palmed the ball in to raise the second green flag with ten minutes on the clock. Mc Cann was in fine form and most of St Mary’s scores in the first half came as a result of his willingness to make himself available for every pass.St Mary’s third goal came through him, Adam Loughran played the ball into him, and timed his run perfectly to take the return and he got his second major. Gareth Magee scored a free when Mc Cann was fouled again bringing us to the water break with the scores 3:03 to 0:01.Ruairi Loughran picked off a nice point from range. Aldergrove got their goal when Christopher Mc Steen turned well to lay off a lovely weighted fisted pass to Kain Jones who shot across goal to beat Luke Mulholland at the far post. Any hopes of a comeback were killed off with Mc Cann finishing the half with a point and a goal.

Half time 4:05 to 1:01
As the sides lined out for the second half Aldergrove switched their defence to try to nullify Mc Cann. Eunan Walsh collected in mid field and as he carried the ball forward looked for Mc Cann, although he didn’t collect it cleanly, he did enough to return the ball to Walsh who powered through and drove into the net. His midfield partner Jack Lenehan joined him on the scoreboard when he made himself available for a pull back by Caolan Farr and split the posts. Mc Cann was having to come deeper to retrieve the ball and when he was fouled thirty metres from goal, a quick free kick caught the Aldergrove defence napping and Jamie Lamontwas on hand to score the final goal of the day. Ruairi Loughran and Adam Loughran kept the score ticking with a point a piece before Seamus Mc Garry registered the visitor’s first score of the second half. Aghagallon made a couple of changes and it was no surprise Mc Cann was given a well-earned break. Magee added to his tally and as we approached the water break the visitors lost their discipline with yellow cards to Gerard Mallon, Christopher Mc Veigh and Andrew Flood in quick succession, all bourne out of frustration.Gareth Magee made sure the fouls were punished as he got two frees. Just before the water break Aldergrove did breach the home rear guard but as Mc Garry closed in on goal his powerful shot rose just over the bar.When play restarted Aldergrove enjoyed their best spell of the game Mc Steen with one and, Mc Garry with two, reduced the deficit. Conleth Mc Alinden was rewarded for his efforts when he got a lovely point. Careless play in the Aghagallon defence presented Mc Steen with the last score of the game and he finished with style.
The difference on the scoreboard at the final whistle will count for nothing in the return fixture at the end of the month and Naomh Seamas will continue to improve as they find their feet back in senior football.

St Mary’s – Luke Mulholland, Ryan O Neill, Daniel Donnelly, Aidan Mulholland, Michael Mc Stravick, Patrick Branagan, Jamie Lamont (1:00), Jack Lenehan (0:01), Eunan Walsh (1:00), Caolan Farr, Adam Loughran (2:01), Mark Mc Afee, Gareth Magee (0:05 4f), Ruairi Mc Cann (2:01), Ruairi Loughran (0:03)
Conleth Mc Alinden (0:01) for Ruairi Mc Cann, Paul Mulholland for Pat Branagan, Steven Branagan for Aidan Mulholland, Liam Russell for Caolan Farr, Callum Fitzpatrick for Mark Mc Afee
Naomh Seamus – Christopher Taggart, Emmet Irvine, Fredia Carson, Christopher Mc Veigh, Gerard Mallon, Chris O Kane, Andrew Flood, Ryan Owens, Daniel Bell, Seamus Mc Garry (0:05 2f), Christopher Mc Steen (0:02), Ronan Hanna, Conal Quinn, Kain Jones (1:00), Corey Fogarty

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.