McKeever sinks battling Saints

Casement SC JHC Group 4

Rasharkin 2-15 All Saints 1-11

Photographs: Mark Hasson

Conor ‘Bullhead’ McKeever was the man in form as St. Mary’s Rasharkin out scored a battling All Saints Ballymena at Dreen today. McKeever was instrumental in nearly everything good the former Intermediate side did but they were pushed all the way by last year’s Junior B finalists.

McKeever opened the scoring for the Dreen side with a point in the third minute but All Saints replied through Damian Gillan to move 0-2 to 0-1 ahead with eight minutes on the clock.

Thomas ‘Tucker’ McMullan put the home side in front with a goal in the 7th minute and McKeever for Rasharkin and Gillan for the Ballymena side exchanged further points before Gillan sent a ‘65’ between the uprights in the 14th minute to leave the visitors just one behind and things were not quite going to plan for the hot favourites.

At this stage the game was turning into a shootout between Conor McKeever for the home side and Saint’s Damian Gillan with ‘Bullhead’ hitting another three for Rasharkin and Gillan replying with two for the visitors and Gary Miskella getting another to leave the half time score 1-6 to 0-7 in favour of the home side.

Gillan closed the gap to one with a point on the restart with McKeever replying for Rasharkin and when Ciaran Neeson fired home an All Saints goal in the 36th minute an upset suddenly looked on the cards.

Again the Rasharkin talisman, McKeever hit back with a point in the 39th minute with the excellent Gillan responding once more for the visitors in the 43d minute and at this stage it still looked anybody’s game.

It was the Dreen men who finished strongly however with Conor McKeever hitting three unanswered points and points from Thomas McMullan, James Scally and Donagh Quigg put them in control.

Conor McKeever put the issue beyond doubt as he fired to the net with time almost up with Ciaran Neeson and Damian Gillan responding with Consolation points for the gallant losers

St Mary’s Rasharkin

1. Aidan Darragh

2. Liam Tunney

3. Daniel Doherty

4. Aidan McKeever

5. James Scally (0-1)

6. Conor Hasson

7. Tiernan O’Boyle

8. Emmet McFerran

9. Conor Doherty

10. Donagh Quigg (0-1)

11. Declan McKay

12. Conor McKeever (1-12)

13. Daniel Hasson

14. Thomas McMullan (1-1)

15. Shane Hasson

Rashrkin Scorers:
Conor “BullHead” McKeever (1-12) min)
Thomas “Tucker” McMullan (1-1)
James Scally (0-1)
Donagh Quigg (0-1)

30mins Colm Kennedy for Conor Doherty
37mins Conor Donaghy for Daniel Hasson

56mins Kealan Darragh for Declan McKay

62mins Paul Reilly for Thomas McMullan

ALL Saints Ballymena
1.Ciaran Cassley
2. PJ OKane
3. Padhraig Magill
4. Declan McKee
5. Terence Diamond
6. Luke O’Rawe
7. Sean O’Rawe
8. Vincert Esler
9. Cormac Magill
10. Kieran O’Boyle
11. Damian Gillan
12. Ciaran Neeson
13. Rory McAllistar
14. Gary Miskella
15. Kevin Brady

Ballymena Scorers
Damian Gillan (0-9)
Ciaran Nesson (1-1)
Gary Miskella (0-1)

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.