Cargin remain top of the table

Reserve Cup (round five) Group 2

Erin’s Own Cargin 8-19 St Mary’s Ahoghill 1-05

Cargin remain top of the table in group two of Reserve Cup when the gained the points at the expense of the visiting Ahoghill in Toome on Friday evening.

The Erin’s Own men having sdefeated the Cloney side on their own ground in the opening round of the competition started this one as the warmest of favourites and at no point did they look in trouble.

With Kevin Mc Shane and Mark Keegan dominating the mid field sector from the outset they blasted out of the start traps and by the end of the first quarter they had earned a 3-07 to 0-01 lead.

The back from injury Enda McGrogan found the net just a few minutes into proceedings and big Ryan ‘Podgy’ Mc Kiernan added another in the 7th minute before Shay Bovill set up the former to raise a second green flag three minutes later.

Dominic Neeson, who worked like a Trogan throughout for the Cloney side, opened his side’s account with a long range point and added a second a few minutes later but such was not to signal an upturn of fortunes.

The home side continued to dominate but they lost some momentum after the first water break with Ahoghill keeper Ryan Doherty denying both Sean McAuley and Shay Bovill.

Owen Neeson, having entered the fray in the opening quarter, opened his account with a fine 18th minute point but the Cargin men took respite with a 3-10 to 0-03 lead at the break.

The home side started the second half facing the northerly breeze and although Owen Neeson drew first blood with an early point but Cargin were quick to reply through Enda Mc Grogan (2) and Sean Mc Auley before both Kevin Mc Shane and John Mc Nabb bagged goals apiece as the home side dominated.

A Gerard McGarry punched goal from an Owen Neeson delivery in the 42nd minute provided little consolation but Erin’s Own finished as they had started with former net minder Conor Ewart getting in for a goal as the home side finishing a convincing 8-19 a 1-05 winners.

Cargin: Conor Ewart (2-00), Sean og Quinn, Gerard Mc Corley, Eamon Laverty, Jamie Kennedy (0-02), Kyle Johnston, Mark Keegan, Kevin Mc Shane, (2-02), Peadar Mc Keever, Enda Mc Groggan (2-01), Shay Bovill (0-03), John Mc Nabb (0-03), Ryan Mc Kiernan (2-05), Sean Mc Auley (0-01)


Dermot Mc Guckin for Shay Bovill

Dualtach Johnston for K Johnston

Ryan Toal for E Mc Groggan

Tomas Laverty for Ryan Mc Kiernan

Gavin Pollock (0-01) for E Laverty

Ahoghill: Ryan Doherty, Conor Neeson, J P Neeson, Tiernan Campbell, Conor Mc Garry, Niall Magee, Seamus Mc Keever, Dominic Neeson (0-02), Sean Mc Mahon, Ryan Keenan, Ryan Mc Peake, Gerard Keenan, Gerard Mc Garry (1-00), Declan Liddy, Joey Hamill


Owen Neeson (0-03 for C Mc Garry

Chris Mc Glone for T Campbell

Referee D O’ Neill (Gort na Mona)

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.