Tir na nOg hold on for useful win

Andersontown Social Club IHC Group 2

Glen Rovers Armoy 1.10 (13) Tír na nÓg 0.16 (16)

 Tír na nÓg held on to record a win over Glen Rovers Armoy in this Intermediate Hurling Championship game in Armoy despite a late rally from the home side. This game was very much in the melting pot for the full 60 minutes. It began tick for tack with both teams registering early scores through free takers Johnny McErlain and Sean Duffin. Tír na nÓg lost their captain Ryan O’Neill early on through injury and were forced to rejig their defence. After the water break Tír na nÓg lifted the tempo and hit five unanswered scores. Armoy fought back and began to turn the Whitehill defence over and did well to leave the margin 2 at half time.

In the second half Armoy keeper Devlin was called upon twice to make a save against Sean Duffin’s pulled effort and Eamon Óg McAllister’s bullet of a shot. 12 minutes into the second half Armoy were reduced to 14 men when Brendan Toland spotted an off the ball strike on Conor Fitzgerald. With 15 minutes remaining and the difference still 2 points, Armoy threw the kitchen sink at Tír na nÓg. With time almost up McErlain gave the home side a glimmer of hope when he rocketed a 21 metre free to the back of the net to narrow the gap back to two points. Sean Duffin duly knocked over his eighth free of the game to increase the visitors lead to three before Rocky got his first of the game. The last score came through Ciaran Logan registering his third score of the game before Toland blew the long whistle.

Tír na nÓg 1. K.Sheerin 2. T. Martin 3. C. Sheerin 4. C. Fitzgerald 5. C. O’Neill 6. R. O’Neill 7. C. Duffin 8. A. McNeilly 9. C. McKeown 10. E. Óg McAllister 11. C. Logan 12. S. Duffin 13. E. Martin 14. P. Sheerin 15. S. McKinley 17. N. Devlin 19. S. Donnelly 20. K. Kerr 21. S. Carey 22. D. Martin 23. D. Mallon 24. D. Fagan 25. O. McAtamney Subs: D. Martin for R. O’Neill (12mins), N. Devlin for S. McKinley (HT), D. Fagan for P. Sheerin (40mins), S. Donnelly for E. Martin (50mins), K. Kerr for C. Logan (63mins) Scorers: S. Duffin (0.9- 7 frees/1 65′), C. Logan (0.3), E. Martin (0.1), C. McKeown (0.1), A. McNeilly (0.1), E. McAllister (0.1)

Armoy 1. C. Devlin 2. A. Devlin 3. S. Devlin 4. J. McFetridge 5. J. McBride 6. T. Burns 7. C. Coyles 8. PJ McBride 9. C. Christie 10. J. McErlain 11. J. Dillon 12. T. McBride 13. C. Watterson 14. E. McCaughan 15. T. Linton 17. D. Connolly 24. T. Burns Scorers: J. McErlain (1.5- 3 frees/1 65′), E. McCaughan (0.2), T. McBride (0.1), T. Linton (0.1), J. Dillon (0.1)

Referee: Brendan Toland (Lamh Dhearg)

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.