Aghagallon stroll into Breslin final

Breslin Cup (U16) Semi-Final

St Ergnat’s Moneyglass 0-04 St Mary’s Aghagallon 5-24

Aghagallon claimed a place in the final of the Breslin Cup and an upcoming date with Erin’s Own Cargin when they proved too strong for a brave Moneyglass side at Marian Hill on Sunday evening.

Moneyglass started positively and they made the early running as mid fielder Paul Duffin raced through the central zone to raise white in the second minute.

The home side looked nimble enough and could have claimed a couple more scores in the opening minutes but their visitors were soon off the mark and a 6th minute Jonathan Hannon point opened their account.

The mid fielder raced through to fire between the posts and Gareth Reavey, Conor Magill, Padraig Gowdy, and Callum Mulholland followed suit before Hannon added another himself to give the visitors a 0-07 to 0-01 advantage.

The Moneyglass lads battled against the odds from an early juncture but their physically superior visitors were dominant and held a 0-09 to 0-01 lead at the first water break.

The short break did little to stem the flow as the second quarter got under way and St Mary’s added a couple of points before wing back Gareth Reavey nipped forward to plant the leather in the net.

Aghagallon were now in control of proceedings and when Sean Gowdy and his sibling Padraig found the net in turn they had a huge 3-14 to 0-01 lead at the short whistle.

Moneyglass started the second half with a point from Paul Duffin but Aghagallon were quick to reply as Callum Mulholland grabbed their fourth goal before St. Ergnat’s responded with points apiece from Sean Boyd and Paul Duffin but the die was well and truly cast and at the second water break the visitors led 4-16 to 0-03.

The visitors introduced a full complement of subs during the final quarter with Adam Crooks adding a couple of points as Moneyglass continued to battle against the odds but a late Paul Duffin point was to be their single reward.

Aghagallon finished as they had started with the excellent Sean Gowdy much to the fore as he added a number of late points to see his side ease over the finish line and into the Breslin cup decider at 5-24 to 0-04.

Cargin will provide the opposition to this impressive Aghagallon side in a decider which looks an attractive pairing with the St Mary’s lads looking favourites to claim the silverware on this showing.


Moneyglass: Callum graham, Zak Hamill, Seannan O’ Boyle, Declan Duffin, Matthew Cairns, Brian Magee, Nathan Dixon, Paul Duffin (0-03), Ray Taggart, Sean Boyd (0-01), Tiernan Mc Cormick, Callum Murray, Matthew McMullan, Conleth McCann, Kevin McCann

Aghagallon: Joseph Mc Donald, James Mc Cormick, Edward Wilson, Ryan Mulholland, Gareth Reavey (0-01), Ciaran Maginnis, James Hamill, Enda Mc Cartan (0-02), Jonathan Hannon (0-03), Conor Magill (0-01), Padraig Gowdy (1-02), Ethan Lavery (0-03), Nathan Gowdy, Sean Gowdy (1-09), Callum Mulholland (2-01)

Adam Crooks (0-02) for C Magill

Ronan Crawford for N Gowdy

Sam Thomas for E Mc Cartan

Eoghan Magill for P Gowdy

Referee P Lagan (Casement’s)

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.