Cargin finish top of the group

Minor A Football  Championship (group one)

St Ergnat’s Moneyglass 2-08 Erin’s Own Cargin 3-12

Reigning county minor football champions Erin’s Own Cargin completed the opening phase of the 2020 competition to remain unbeaten and finish top of their group with a hard earned victory over neighbours St Ergnat’s Moneyglass on Monday evening.

The Toome lads travelled to Marian Hill undefeated and with a huge scoring difference over the pack as firm favourites but although they were destined to cross the winning line as winners they were made to work hard by a determined Moneyglass fifteen.

The home side had underlined positive intent from the outset with a goal in the opening minute.

Corner forward Charlie Mc Closkey spearheaded the advance on the target after Aiden Mc Erlain fetched in the central zone and he combined with Tyler Cassidy before rounding the keeper to blast to the back of the net.

A smart opening from the Moneyglass side but their visitors were quick to reply as Conan Kennedy combined with Benen Kelly to open the door for Paudie Mc Laughlin to fire home and it was 1-00 to 1-00 apiece at the 4th minute.

The Toome side took the lead in the 6th minute as Tom Shovers and Conhuir Johnston raised whites apiece to move a couple of points clear but scores were to prove hard to come by and after Tyler Cassidy and Conhuir Johnston swapped points apiece Cargin led 1-03 to 1-01 at the first water break.

Cargin resumed in a positive mode with an early score as a Conhuir Johnston 17th minute goal was followed by back to back Tom Shivers points and they looked on the way.

Moneyglass responded however and claiming the initiative they were to shade the issue for the remainder of the period dominating the vital central zone with Tyler Cassidy causing problems for the Cargin defence. They hit back with points from Cassidy, Frank Duffin (2) and a couple more from Aiden Mc Erlain in answer to a Benen Kelly score to ensure they were within a score of their visitors at the break.

Cargin started the second half with an early score as the ever dangerous Conhuir Johnston fired between the posts and although Tyler Cassidy replied at the other end the visitors dominated the next phase and had earned a ten point advantage by the end of the third quarter.

Erin’s Own lads were now dominating and a Tom Shiver’s goal followed by a PJ and points from Conhuir Johnston (3), and Odhran Molloy ensured a 3-11 to 1-07 lead at the second water break.

Darkness was descending as the sides and commenced the final quarter and a Tom Shivers 19th minute point increased the visitors lead but St Ergnat’s finished strongly to dominate the closing stages.

Moneyglass, while never looking like turning the game around, gained some reward for their efforts and after Aiden McErlain fired a 40 metre free between the posts Tyler Cassidy slotted home a 58th minute penalty.

Cargin crossed the winning line with a 3-12 to 2-08 winning scoreline and to a semi final date in the competition where they will meet up with the runners up in group two.


Moneyglass: Rory Gribbin, James Mc Cormick, Harry O’ Donnell, Michael Magee, Kevin Mc Cann, Shea Madden, Paul Duffin, Conor Kane, Frank Duffin (0-02), Conleth Mc Cann, Aiden Mc Erlain (0-03), Rory Duffin, Charlie Mc Cluskey (1-00), Tyler Cassidy (1-03), Ronan Campbell

Cargin: Shea Laverty, Diarmuid Mc Peake, Cahir Donnelly, Craig Thornton, Conan Kennedy, Sean og O’ Neill, Conan Johnston, Eunan Quinn, Odhran Molloy (0-01), PJ Quinn, Benen Kelly (0-01), Tom Shivers (1-04), Conhuir Johnston (1-06), Paudie Mc Laughlin (1-00)


Shane Gribbon for C Mc Cann

Ben Mc Larnon for D Mc Peake

Conor Kelly for B Kelly

Referee R Leahy (St Comgall’s)

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.